Skip to main content
Australian Dental school comparison

Adelaide Dental vs Griffith Dental

Adelaide Dental and Griffith Dental are both Australian dental schools, but the path to an offer at each is meaningfully different. Adelaide Dental is in South Australia while Griffith Dental is in Queensland. State of origin matters here: several schools rank local applicants ahead of interstate ones. Both select on UCAT-ANZ, so a single sitting can support both applications.

Side-by-side comparison

Adelaide Dental

Adelaide

Quick comparison

Location
Adelaide, Australia
Entry pathway
Undergraduate
Admission tests
UCAT-ANZ
GAMSAT
-
UCAT-ANZ
UCAT-ANZ alone ranks applicants for interview invitation (Sections 1-3 equally weighted; the Situational Judgement Test is used only to split tied candidates at the lower end). Adelaide University publishes no cut-off and states it 'will not comment on the competitiveness of your score'. For scale only — these are whole-cohort UCAT-ANZ figures, not an Adelaide threshold — the official UCAT-ANZ 2026 sitting (2027 entry, 17,341 candidates) had a Total Cognitive mean of 1,964/2700, a median of 1,950 and a 9th decile of 2,340. Offers are then ranked Interview 40% + Academic 40% + UCAT-ANZ 20%.
ATAR
Minimum adjusted ATAR-equivalent selection rank of 90.00 for eligibility (selection rank = ATAR plus any adjustment factors). Adelaide University says the ATAR actually required is 'typically much higher' but explicitly does not disclose cut-off scores from previous years, and its published ATAR profile for the Semester 1 2026 intake reports fewer than five ATAR-based offers ('<5' in every cell), so no lowest or median rank is available. No 98-99 figure is published by any primary source.
Interview format
Multi-Mini Interview, domestic applicants (minimum 6 stations × 10 minutes, one interviewer per station, online via Zoom; Adelaide notes the format is reviewed each cycle and may change)
Post-interview chance
Adelaide University does not publish an interview-to-offer rate. As a rough indication only, ~300 domestic interview invitations sit against roughly 45-47 domestic students commencing in Semester 1 2026 — about 15% — but this is a commencement ratio, not an offer rate, and the same interview also covers applicants whose eligible preferences include the Bachelor of Medical Studies or Bachelor of Oral Health.
Decision date
January

Griffith Dental

Gold Coast

Quick comparison

Location
Gold Coast, Australia
Entry pathway
Undergraduate
Admission tests
UCAT-ANZ
GAMSAT
-
UCAT-ANZ
No discrete numerical cut-off published by Griffith — UCAT ANZ Total Score alone decides who is invited to GUDAP. No Tier-1 source supports the "~78th percentile" or "90th+ percentile" figures, so both are dropped. For scale only, the official UCAT ANZ 2026 distribution (17,341 candidates, three cognitive subtests scored out of 2700) has a mean total cognitive score of 1,964, a median of 1,950 and a 9th decile of 2,340. Scores from the 2022–2024 sittings were on the retired /3600 four-subtest scale (2024 mean 2,588) and cannot be converted to the current scale.
ATAR
Griffith publishes no ATAR or selection-rank threshold for BDHS. QTAC renders both the "Minimum Selection thresholds (ATAR/Selection Rank)" and "ATAR/Selection Rank profile" sections for Trimester 1 2026 with no values, and records 0 recent-secondary students admitted solely on the basis of ATAR/rank and 0 admitted where ATAR/rank plus additional criteria were considered — so neither a floor nor a median ATAR can be quoted. Academic attainment is only one weighted component alongside UCAT ANZ and GUDAP.
Interview format
GUDAP — Griffith University Dental Admissions Process (recorded, asynchronous multi-scenario online interview via SAMMI; no live interviewer)
Post-interview chance
Not published. For scale only: Griffith interviews around 300 candidates, and QTAC records 125 BDHS admissions for Trimester 1 2026, of whom 52 were international and 42 came from a higher-education background. These are not comparable populations and must not be divided into an interview-to-offer conversion rate.
Decision date
January

Adelaide Dental vs Griffith Dental - in detail

Admission tests compared

UCAT-ANZ cut-offs. Adelaide Dental — UCAT-ANZ alone ranks applicants for interview invitation (Sections 1-3 equally weighted; the Situational Judgement Test is used only to split tied candidates at the lower end). Adelaide University… Griffith Dental — No discrete numerical cut-off published by Griffith — UCAT ANZ Total Score alone decides who is invited to GUDAP.

No Tier-1 source supports the "~78th percentile" or "90th+ percentile" figures, so…

Timing shapes the choice as much as the score. GAMSAT is graduate-only and sits in March and September; UCAT-ANZ is mostly undergraduate and sits in July. A few schools run their own selection model with no national test at all.

ATAR and academic profile

Adelaide Dental requires Adjusted ATAR-equivalent selection rank of 90.00+ for minimum eligibility (Adelaide University states it does not disclose ATAR cut-off scores, and its published ATAR profile for the Semester 1 2026 intake shows '<5' in every cell) plus UCAT-ANZ plus an online MMI; SACE Stage 2 prerequisites are one of Chemistry, Mathematical Methods, Specialist Mathematics or Physics PLUS one of Biology, Earth and Environmental Science, Chemistry or Physics — English is assumed knowledge, not a prerequisite; rural-background (approximately four reserved places) and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander pathways available.

Griffith Dental requires BDHS selection is a combined weighted score of three components — academic attainment, UCAT ANZ and the GUDAP interview — with invitations to GUDAP issued on UCAT ANZ Total Score alone. Griffith publishes no ATAR or selection-rank threshold, and QTAC states that Griffith's Guaranteed Admission Schemes do not apply to this program.

English plus one of Biology / Chemistry / Physics / Maths Methods (Units 3/4, C) is ASSUMED KNOWLEDGE, not a prerequisite — Griffith's degree page lists prerequisites as "NIL" and QTAC's Prerequisites field names only the minimum age requirement and the interview. BDHS is the entry point; the 2-year Master of Dentistry (5703) is the continuation.

No direct-entry BDS or DMD.

ATAR. Adelaide Dental — Minimum adjusted ATAR-equivalent selection rank of 90.00 for eligibility (selection rank = ATAR plus any adjustment factors). Adelaide University says the ATAR actually required is 'typically much… Griffith Dental — Griffith publishes no ATAR or selection-rank threshold for BDHS. QTAC renders both the "Minimum Selection thresholds (ATAR/Selection Rank)" and "ATAR/Selection Rank profile" sections for Trimester 1…

Read every ATAR figure as a selection rank, not a raw score. Educational access bonuses, rural-origin uplift and Indigenous pathways all adjust it, so the published number is rarely the one that decides your application.

Interview formats

Both Adelaide Dental and Griffith Dental use MMI interviews, so the underlying prep approach is the same — practise ethics frameworks, Australian health-system topics (Medicare, rural workforce, Indigenous health) and (for MMI) structured station responses against a timer.

That said, the specifics differ slightly: Adelaide Dental runs multi-mini interview, domestic applicants (minimum 6 stations × 10 minutes, one interviewer per station, online via zoom; adelaide notes the format is…; Griffith Dental runs gudap — griffith university dental admissions process (recorded, asynchronous multi-scenario online interview via sammi; no live interviewer).

Mock practice tailored to each school's exact format is the highest-leverage prep.

Interview windows: Adelaide Dental interviews in Late November to December 2026 for 2027 entry, plus a separate Northern Community Care stream round in late January 2027 (eligibility notified January 2027). Adelaide lists this stream only in its key-dates table and publishes no eligibility criteria or application route for it.; Griffith Dental in 23–27 November 2026 (2027-entry cycle).

Curriculum and teaching style

Both schools deliver a Integrated-style curriculum, so day-to-day study habits will feel similar across years 1-3.

Specifics: 5-year undergraduate Bachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS). Taught at the Adelaide City Campus (North Terrace), with compulsory clinical placements from fi Integrated pathway: 3-year Bachelor of Dental Health Science (BDHS, 1577) → 2-year Master of Dentistry (MDent, 5703). No direct-entry BDS or DMD. Both

Intake size: Adelaide Dental — Adelaide University no longer publishes a BDS place count; its mandated student profile (SATAC code ABP116) records 76 students commencing the BDS…; Griffith Dental — QTAC: 125 students admitted to BDHS for Trimester 1 2026, of whom 52 (41.6%) were international. A larger cohort means more peer breadth; a smaller cohort means more tutor contact.

Post-interview offer rate

Adelaide Dental: Adelaide University does not publish an interview-to-offer rate.

As a rough indication only, ~300 domestic interview invitations sit against roughly 45-47 domestic students commencing in Semester 1 2026 — about 15% — but this is a commencement ratio, not an offer rate, and the same interview also covers applicants whose eligible preferences include the Bachelor of Medical Studies or Bachelor of Oral Health. Griffith Dental: Not published.

For scale only: Griffith interviews around 300 candidates, and QTAC records 125 BDHS admissions for Trimester 1 2026, of whom 52 were international and 42 came from a higher-education background. These are not comparable populations and must not be divided into an interview-to-offer conversion rate.

Post-interview odds give you the clearest signal of how competitive each school is at the final stage — a school with a 60% post-interview success rate is structurally easier to convert than one at 25%, even if the interview thresholds look identical on paper.

What makes each distinctive

Adelaide Dental: Adelaide runs South Australia's only dental school (est. 1920) as a 5-year undergraduate Bachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS). Co-located with the Adelaide Dental Hospital — one of Australia's oldest dental teaching hospitals.

Adelaide University, formed in January 2026 from the merger of the University of Adelaide and UniSA, now delivers the BDS under SATAC code ABP116; applications for 2027 entry are open (SATAC applications 3 August - 30 September 2026, offers from January 2027).

Griffith Dental: Griffith offers a single integrated dental pathway: 3-year Bachelor of Dental Health Science (BDHS, program 1577) → 2-year Master of Dentistry (MDent, program 5703). There is no direct-entry BDS and no DMD. Co-located with Gold Coast University Hospital and the Griffith Health Centre 117-chair dental clinic.

Selection is a combined weighted score of academic attainment + UCAT ANZ + the GUDAP interview, and QTAC confirms Griffith's Guaranteed Admission Schemes do not apply to this program — QTAC publishes no ATAR/selection-rank profile or minimum threshold for this course, so no ATAR floor can be quoted.

Which is right for you?

Check your state of origin before you apply — Adelaide Dental draws heavily on South Australia applicants and Griffith Dental on Queensland, and an interstate application often faces a materially higher bar.

Your preference list should ultimately weight: which admission test you can realistically score well in, whether your state of origin gives you a bonus at either school, and where you'd actually want to live for four to five years.

Common questions

Adelaide Dental uses UCAT-ANZ. Griffith Dental uses UCAT-ANZ. Both schools share the same test stack — your single sitting can support both applications. GAMSAT is graduate-only and sat in March/September; UCAT-ANZ is undergraduate-leaning and sat in July; some schools (notably Bond and JCU) run their own selection model with no national test.

School data reviewed by the NextGen MedPrep editorial team — last reviewed .