Adelaide Dental
Adelaide
Quick comparison
- Location
- Adelaide, Australia
- Entry pathway
- Undergraduate
- Admission tests
- UCAT-ANZ
- GAMSAT
- -
- UCAT-ANZ
- UCAT-ANZ alone ranks applicants for interview invitation (Sections 1-3 equally weighted; the Situational Judgement Test is used only to split tied candidates at the lower end). Adelaide University publishes no cut-off and states it 'will not comment on the competitiveness of your score'. For scale only — these are whole-cohort UCAT-ANZ figures, not an Adelaide threshold — the official UCAT-ANZ 2026 sitting (2027 entry, 17,341 candidates) had a Total Cognitive mean of 1,964/2700, a median of 1,950 and a 9th decile of 2,340. Offers are then ranked Interview 40% + Academic 40% + UCAT-ANZ 20%.
- ATAR
- Minimum adjusted ATAR-equivalent selection rank of 90.00 for eligibility (selection rank = ATAR plus any adjustment factors). Adelaide University says the ATAR actually required is 'typically much higher' but explicitly does not disclose cut-off scores from previous years, and its published ATAR profile for the Semester 1 2026 intake reports fewer than five ATAR-based offers ('<5' in every cell), so no lowest or median rank is available. No 98-99 figure is published by any primary source.
- Interview format
- Multi-Mini Interview, domestic applicants (minimum 6 stations × 10 minutes, one interviewer per station, online via Zoom; Adelaide notes the format is reviewed each cycle and may change)
- Post-interview chance
- Adelaide University does not publish an interview-to-offer rate. As a rough indication only, ~300 domestic interview invitations sit against roughly 45-47 domestic students commencing in Semester 1 2026 — about 15% — but this is a commencement ratio, not an offer rate, and the same interview also covers applicants whose eligible preferences include the Bachelor of Medical Studies or Bachelor of Oral Health.
- Decision date
- January
- ATAR
- Minimum adjusted ATAR-equivalent selection rank of 90.00 for eligibility (selection rank = ATAR plus any adjustment factors). Adelaide University says the ATAR actually required is 'typically much higher' but explicitly does not disclose cut-off scores from previous years, and its published ATAR profile for the Semester 1 2026 intake reports fewer than five ATAR-based offers ('<5' in every cell), so no lowest or median rank is available. No 98-99 figure is published by any primary source.
- Contextual ATAR
- Adjustment factors are applied through SATAC — the Universities Equity Scheme, plus subject adjustment factors under the Universities Language, Literacy and Mathematics Scheme. The published ATAR profile reports both raw ATAR and Selection Rank (ATAR plus any adjustment factors).
- GAMSAT
- -
- UCAT-ANZ
- UCAT-ANZ alone ranks applicants for interview invitation (Sections 1-3 equally weighted; the Situational Judgement Test is used only to split tied candidates at the lower end). Adelaide University publishes no cut-off and states it 'will not comment on the competitiveness of your score'. For scale only — these are whole-cohort UCAT-ANZ figures, not an Adelaide threshold — the official UCAT-ANZ 2026 sitting (2027 entry, 17,341 candidates) had a Total Cognitive mean of 1,964/2700, a median of 1,950 and a 9th decile of 2,340. Offers are then ranked Interview 40% + Academic 40% + UCAT-ANZ 20%.
- CASPer
- -
- ISAT
- -
- GPA
- -
- Prerequisites
- -
- Place types
- Adelaide University does not publish a place count; its student profile shows 76 students commencing the BDS in Semester 1 2026, 29 of them international (roughly 45-47 domestic). ~300 applicants are invited to a domestic interview (minimum 50% of school-leaver invitations to South Australians) and ~100 international applicants. Bachelor of Oral Health (separate program): 28 commencing students in Semester 1 2026, ~90 interviews.
- Indigenous pathway
- Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander pathway — the Adelaide dental program allocates a number of places specifically to this pathway (quota not disclosed). Applicants apply through SATAC with an Abor…
- Bonded / rural
- No bonded places — the Commonwealth Bonded Medical Program provides a Commonwealth Supported Place in a medical course only (universities must allocate 28.5% of commencing medical CSPs to it) and has…
- Interview window
- Late November to December 2026 for 2027 entry, plus a separate Northern Community Care stream round in late January 2027 (eligibility notified January 2027). Adelaide lists this stream only in its key-dates table and publishes no eligibility criteria or application route for it.
- Interview details
- Adelaide Dental uses an MMI with a minimum of 6 stations × 10 minutes each for domestic applicants (who apply via SATAC). International applicants apply via Adelaide's International Application System…
- Specialities
- Oral Surgery, Orthodontics, Public Dental Health, Indigenous Oral Health, Restorative Dentistry
- Established
- 1920
- Course type
- Undergraduate
- What makes it different
- Adelaide runs South Australia's only dental school (est. 1920) as a 5-year undergraduate Bachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS). Co-located with the Adelaide Dental Hospital — one of Australia's oldest dent…
- Official course page
- https://adelaide.edu.au/study/degrees/bachelor-of-dental-surgery/dom/