Skip to main content
Australian Medical school comparison

Bond vs Curtin

Bond and Curtin are both Australian medical schools, but the path to an offer at each is meaningfully different. Bond is in Queensland while Curtin is in Western Australia. State of origin matters here: several schools rank local applicants ahead of interstate ones. Bond uses Bond-Test; Curtin uses UCAT-ANZ and CASPer.

That mismatch means either preparing two assessments or choosing the school whose test suits you. They also recruit at different stages: Bond runs both undergraduate and graduate entry, Curtin runs school-leaver (undergraduate) entry. The interview formats diverge — Assessment day vs MMI — and the prep approaches for the two are fundamentally different.

Side-by-side comparison

Bond

Gold Coast

Quick comparison

Location
Gold Coast, Australia
Entry pathway
Dual (UG + Grad)
Admission tests
Bond-Test
GAMSAT
-
UCAT-ANZ
-
ATAR
Undergraduate (Year 12): minimum competitive academic rank OP 1-3 / ATAR 96+ / IB Dip 38+ — Bond frames this as the bar to be competitive for psychometric-test selection, not a guaranteed offer. Graduate: cumulative GPA greater than 6.0 on a 7-point scale, converted to an academic rank by QTAC. For the 2025 intake Bond published a cut-off academic rank of 96.75 (undergraduate) and 98.50 (graduate); Bond states the final cut-off depends on the strength of each applicant pool and does not say whether that rank is the threshold to progress or the final entry rank.
Interview format
Bond psychometric assessment + online selection interview (~90 min including registration and debriefing; Bond does not publish the interview structure)
Post-interview chance
Bond does not publish an interview-to-offer rate. Inferring from its own figures — the 2026 guide's approximately 400 applicants invited to interview against up to 180-200 domestic places — roughly half of interviewees end up with a place, but that is an inference across two separately published numbers, offers are not places, and Bond publishes no conversion figure.
Decision date
23 March 2027 (Round 1 / QTAC Round 650 offers, lapsing 30 March 2027; further direct offers from 5 April 2027); one annual selection round feeding two fixed intakes — classes commence 17 May or 13 September 2027 (no February intake)

Curtin

Bentley

Quick comparison

Location
Bentley, Australia
Entry pathway
Undergraduate
Admission tests
UCAT-ANZ + CASPer
GAMSAT
-
UCAT-ANZ
No official Curtin-published cut-off. Curtin ranks total UCAT score, not a fixed threshold. Curtin publishes no UCAT-ANZ cut-off, minimum or competitive band in any year — the 2027 guide contains no quartile, decile or percentile figure. Note the scale change: UCAT-ANZ dropped Abstract Reasoning at the UCAT ANZ 2025 sitting (2026 entry), so the cognitive total is now out of 2700, not 3600, and Curtin's 2027 guide ranks on the "UCAT ANZ score (out of 2700)". Any figure in the 2900-3000 range comes from the retired /3600 scale and exceeds the current maximum, so it is neither achievable nor comparable. For orientation only, the official all-candidate UCAT ANZ 2026 statistics (the sitting that feeds 2027 entry) show a mean cognitive total of 1,964, a 3rd quartile of 2,170 and a 9th decile of 2,340 — national figures for every test-taker, not a Curtin applicant profile. Interview shortlist ratio 35 ATAR : 35 Casper : 30 UCAT-ANZ, per Curtin's own guide.
ATAR
Minimum ATAR 95.00 for every school-leaver applicant, WA and interstate alike — Curtin publishes one figure with no domicile split, and adjustment points are added on top of it rather than included in it. The 92.00 figure is the minimum notional ATAR for the non-school-leaver (graduate) pathway only; Curtin course switchers are assessed on a course weighted average of 80 instead. Rural or StepUp adjustment points (up to 5, from one scheme only) apply on top, capped at an adjusted 99.95. TISC 2026 Admission Ranks (Main Round, December 2025) for CUMBS: minimum rank for consideration n/a, lowest selection rank offered n/a — selection is NOT solely on ATAR.
Interview format
Multiple Mini Interview (station count not published)
Post-interview chance
Not publicly disclosed.
Decision date
December-January

Bond vs Curtin - in detail

Admission tests compared

UCAT-ANZ cut-offs. Bond — no published cut-off. Curtin — No official Curtin-published cut-off. Curtin ranks total UCAT score, not a fixed threshold. Curtin publishes no UCAT-ANZ cut-off, minimum or competitive band in any year — the 2027 guide contains no…

Timing shapes the choice as much as the score. GAMSAT is graduate-only and sits in March and September; UCAT-ANZ is mostly undergraduate and sits in July. A few schools run their own selection model with no national test at all.

ATAR and academic profile

Bond requires Undergraduate (Year 12) ATAR 96+ / IB 38+ / OP 1-3, OR Graduate cumulative GPA ≥ 6.0/7.0 from recognised tertiary program. English (Units 3/4, C) or equivalent prerequisite. Bond psychometric test (two assessments, ~90 min, online and webcam-proctored; $346.50 inc. GST in 2025) + an online selection interview.

Direct entry is open only to Australian citizens and permanent residents, Australian Humanitarian visa holders and New Zealand citizens (not NZ permanent residents).

Lateral entry into Year 2 BMedSt is available to graduates of Bond's BBiomedSci (Pre-Health Professional major), MOT, DPT or MNDP at GPA ≥ 3.00/4.00 (Bond scale) — and to Master of Healthcare Innovations graduates only if they completed a Bond BBiomedSci first, assessed case-by-case on transcripts. Lateral entry is the only route open to international students.

Curtin requires Minimum ATAR 95.00 for all school leavers, WA and interstate alike, plus an ESSENTIAL Chemistry prerequisite (approximately 220 hours), met by ONE of: Chemistry ATAR with a final scaled score of 50 or higher; IB Chemistry HL/SL grade 4 or higher; NCEA Level 3 Chemistry with 24 achieved credit points; or TWO first-year AQF Level 7 university Chemistry units at 60 or higher in both — bridging units are explicitly not equivalent (the international guide additionally accepts GCE A-Level Chemistry at grade E or above).

STAT is not accepted except for English competency. UCAT-ANZ + Casper required for domestic applicants; 35:35:30 interview shortlist ratio (ATAR : Casper : UCAT-ANZ). Graduates enter on a minimum notional ATAR of 92, Curtin course switchers on a course weighted average of 80.

ATAR.

Bond — Undergraduate (Year 12): minimum competitive academic rank OP 1-3 / ATAR 96+ / IB Dip 38+ — Bond frames this as the bar to be competitive for psychometric-test selection, not a guaranteed offer… Curtin — Minimum ATAR 95.00 for every school-leaver applicant, WA and interstate alike — Curtin publishes one figure with no domicile split, and adjustment points are added on top of it rather than included…

Read every ATAR figure as a selection rank, not a raw score. Educational access bonuses, rural-origin uplift and Indigenous pathways all adjust it, so the published number is rarely the one that decides your application.

Interview formats

Bond uses Assessment day (Bond psychometric assessment + online selection interview (~90 min including registration and debriefing; Bond does not publish the interview structure)); Curtin uses MMI (Multiple Mini Interview (station count not published)). These two formats reward different skills — Assessment day emphasises academic reasoning and thinking aloud through unfamiliar problems, while MMI rewards breadth and quick recovery.

If your strengths lie in conversational depth, either may suit you more. If you prefer discrete capsule answers under time pressure, Curtin is the better fit.

Interview windows: Bond interviews in 2027 entry: online interviews 9-12 March 2027 (technical checks 4, 5 and 8 March); psychometric testing online 12-17 Feb 2027; psychometric invitations 9 Feb 2027; interview invitations 26 Feb 2027; Curtin in December-January (domestic); July-August (international full-fee).

Curriculum and teaching style

Bond runs a PBL curriculum; Curtin runs a Integrated curriculum. The teaching philosophies are different — Bond leans on small-group case-based learning from year 1, while Curtin uses a more traditional lecture-led structure.

Specifics: 4-year-8-month accelerated Bachelor of Medical Studies (BMedSt, 8 semesters) + Doctor of Medicine (MD, 6 semesters, AQF extended Level 9) on a three-s 5-year undergraduate Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS). The first three years are delivered at Curtin Perth (Bentley) with occasional v

Intake size: Bond — Up to 180-200 domestic places a year across two intakes (May + September) — Bond's entry-requirements page says "up to 180 domestic…; Curtin — 2027 intake: approximately 110 domestic places (CSP, inclusive of Bonded Medical Places), plus 10-15 international full-fee places. A larger cohort means more peer breadth; a smaller cohort means more tutor contact.

Post-interview offer rate

Bond: Bond does not publish an interview-to-offer rate. Inferring from its own figures — the 2026 guide's approximately 400 applicants invited to interview against up to 180-200 domestic places — roughly half of interviewees end up with a place, but that is an inference across two separately published numbers, offers are not places, and Bond publishes no conversion figure.

Curtin: Not publicly disclosed.

Post-interview odds give you the clearest signal of how competitive each school is at the final stage — a school with a 60% post-interview success rate is structurally easier to convert than one at 25%, even if the interview thresholds look identical on paper.

What makes each distinctive

Bond: Bond is a private, not-for-profit university and its medical program is entirely full-fee — no Commonwealth Supported Places and no Bonded Medical Program participation (the AMC records that Macquarie's MD likewise has no Commonwealth Supported Places).

It is unusual in running two intakes a year (May, September — NO February intake) on an accelerated calendar: 3 semesters per year, 14 semesters over 4 years 8 months.

No UCAT-ANZ, GAMSAT or UMAT — Bond runs its own online psychometric sitting (a personality test and an emotional intelligence test; the instruments were changed in October 2025 and Bond does not name them). All places are full-fee (no CSP, FEE-HELP eligible for domestic students but capped well below the total cost; no BMP).

The 2027 program fee is $35,130 per semester (about $491,820 over 14 semesters at 2027 rates); Bond says fees "are subject to change on an annual basis" and are charged at the rate for each year of enrolment.

Curtin: Curtin's first intake was in 2017 (60 students), and its first 51 doctors graduated in November 2021. Curtin describes its 5-year MBBS as the only direct-entry medical degree in Western Australia, with a mission centred on primary care, outer-metropolitan Perth, rural and remote WA, and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health.

Domestic applicants sit both UCAT-ANZ and Casper, except Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander pathway applicants, who sit neither and apply directly to Curtin Medical School rather than through TISC; international-pathway applicants also sit neither. Pre-interview ratio 35 (ATAR) : 35 (Casper) : 30 (UCAT-ANZ), per Curtin's own 2027 Domestic Admissions Guide.

Which is right for you?

Start with the admission test: Bond needs Bond-Test, Curtin needs UCAT-ANZ and CASPer. Preparing for one well beats splitting your time across two. Check your state of origin before you apply — Bond draws heavily on Queensland applicants and Curtin on Western Australia, and an interstate application often faces a materially higher bar.

They suit different stages too: Bond is both undergraduate and graduate entry, Curtin is school-leaver (undergraduate) entry. Your preference list should ultimately weight: which admission test you can realistically score well in, whether your state of origin gives you a bonus at either school, and where you'd actually want to live for four to six years.

Common questions

Bond uses Bond-Test. Curtin uses UCAT-ANZ and CASPer. The test mismatch means you may need to prep two assessments simultaneously, or you can pick the school whose admission test you're stronger in. GAMSAT is graduate-only and sat in March/September; UCAT-ANZ is undergraduate-leaning and sat in July; some schools (notably Bond and JCU) run their own selection model with no national test.

School data reviewed by the NextGen MedPrep editorial team — last reviewed .