Medicine as a Mature StudentEntry routes, Access to HE courses and funding
Photo: Chrysi Chrysochou · CC BY-SA 3.0 · cropped
Photo: Suicasmo · CC BY-SA 4.0 · Photo: Clem_nat · CC BY-SA 4.0 · Photo: Chemical Engineer / Wikimedia Commons · CC BY-SA 4.0
Mature applicants — UCAS's term for people typically over 21 or returning after time out of education — reach medicine by several published routes: the standard five-year course with A levels or an Access to HE Diploma (accepted only at some schools, such as Manchester, Bristol, Leeds and Sheffield, and refused at Nottingham, Sunderland and Aston), a graduate place on a five-year course, or four-year graduate entry medicine.
Funding is the other decision. The NHS Bursary pays from year 5 of a standard course or year 2 of a four-year graduate course, and for courses starting in 2027 in England the new Lifelong Learning Entitlement replaces the old student finance rules for most undergraduates.
What are the routes into medicine for mature students?
Each route below is described from school and UCAS pages; the right one depends on what qualifications you already hold.
| Route | Who it suits | Published examples |
|---|---|---|
| Standard course with A levels | Applicants who hold (or will take) the required A levels | Liverpool: “Applications from mature students are welcome.” |
| Standard course with an Access to HE Diploma | Non-graduates without science A levels, where the school accepts Access | See the Access table below. |
| Graduate applicant to a five-year course | Graduates who do not want (or do not qualify for) a four-year course | Leeds: 2:1 in any discipline within the last three years plus ABB at A level including Chemistry and Biology. Sheffield: 2:1 plus BBB at A level. Aston: 2:1 plus ABB — no accelerated route. Leicester scores applicants with prior degrees as graduates. |
| Four-year graduate entry medicine | Graduates, usually with a 2:1 in any subject | See Graduate Entry Medicine and GAMSAT. |
| School-specific mature routes | Applicants who meet a particular scheme | Leeds’ Alternative Entry Scheme for mature applicants without the required A levels (includes an essay). Exeter requires GAMSAT from graduates and anyone more than two years past A levels; Plymouth accepts GAMSAT instead of A levels. |
Which medical schools accept an Access to HE Diploma?
QAA describes the Access to HE Diploma as a full level 3 qualification of 60 credits — 45 graded at level 3 and 15 ungraded at level 2 or 3 — and only QAA-recognised courses may use the title. Medical schools that accept it attach extra conditions. Where a school's page did not state a policy, it is not listed.
| School | Accepted? | Published conditions |
|---|---|---|
| University of Manchester | Yes | Science-based; 60 credits with 45 at level 3; at least 15 graded credits each in Biology and Chemistry; Distinction in all level 3 credits; not previously studied at university; at least 3 years out of education before the Access course; not a top-up for A levels; GCSE Maths grade B (6). |
| University of Bristol | Yes | Diploma in Science, Biomedical/Medical/Health Science or Psychology; 45 graded level 3 credits with at least 30 at Distinction and 15 at Merit; at least 12 Distinction credits in Chemistry; at least 12 credits (9 at Distinction) in Biology, Physics or Maths. |
| University of Leeds | Yes | Access to HE Diploma (Medicine) meeting the QAA subject descriptor; all graded level 3 units at Distinction; not taught by distance learning; not if below a 2:1 in a previous degree without substantial subsequent experience. |
| University of Sheffield | Yes | QAA-approved Access to HE Diploma (Medicine); no Biology or Chemistry A levels or relevant science degree in the three years before the course; all 45 level 3 credits at Distinction; not distance learning; not with a degree below 2:1. |
| University of Exeter | Yes | QAA-approved Diploma with 30 level 3 credits at Distinction and 15 at Merit, including 15 Distinction credits in a Biology-related and 15 in a Chemistry-related subject. |
| University of Plymouth | Yes (CAVA) | CAVA Access to HE (Medicine): 60 credits, 45 at Distinction, including 15 in Biology and 15 in a second science. |
| Edge Hill University | Yes | QAA-approved Access to HE Diploma (Medicine): Distinction in 45 level 3 credits with at least 15 each in Chemistry and Biology; started at least 3 years after A levels or degree; obtained within the two years before applying. |
| University of Leicester | Some courses, age 22+ | Some QAA-approved Access to Medicine courses for candidates aged 22 or above; not in lieu of poor science A levels. |
| University of East Anglia | Some programmes | “Access to HE Diploma (acceptable Access programmes only)”. |
| University of Nottingham | No | BTEC Nationals and the Access to HE Diploma are not accepted. |
| University of Sunderland | No | Does not accept Access to Higher Education/Access to Medicine courses. |
| Aston University | No | “We do not currently accept any access courses.” |
How is medicine funded for mature and graduate students?
Figures are for students from England (Student Finance England and the NHS Bursary); Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland have their own systems. The NHS Bursary rules come from NHSBSA's 2025/26 guide, the latest full guide we could open.
| Course | Years not eligible for the NHS Bursary | Years eligible for the NHS Bursary |
|---|---|---|
| Five-or-more-year undergraduate course (including an integral foundation or intercalated year) | Years 1–4 | Year 5 onwards |
| Accelerated four-year course for graduates | Year 1 | Years 2–4 |
| Undergraduate medicine taken as a second degree | Years before the fifth year of study | From the fifth year of study |
| Element | London, living away | Outside London, living away | Parental home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Means-tested bursary (maximum per year) | £3,356 | £2,780 | £2,321 |
| Non-means-tested grant | £1,052 | £1,052 | £1,052 |
| Course | Maximum contribution |
|---|---|
| Undergraduate course lasting five or six years | up to £9,535 |
| Graduate entry course (three or four years) | up to £3,830 |
| Course starts | Rule for students who have studied before | Loan amounts |
|---|---|---|
| Before 1 January 2027 | Usually first qualification only; graduates may get limited funding for medicine and allied subjects, and healthcare courses from 1 August 2017 may qualify. No upper age limit for Tuition Fee Loans. | Up to £9,535 (2025/26) or £9,790 (2026/27) per year. First year of graduate-entry medicine: loan up to £6,125, and you pay the first £3,665 (2026/27). |
| On or after 1 January 2027 (Lifelong Learning Entitlement) | Previous government tuition funding is deducted from a £39,160 total; more may be available for courses such as medicine. Must be under 60 on the first day to apply for a Tuition Fee Loan. | Up to £39,160 in total, based on credits studied; repayments start above £25,000 a year. |
Medicine as a mature student — FAQs
Sources (accessed 19 September 2026)
Every fact on this page comes from one of these documents, each opened on the date above. Where a source did not state something, this page does not state it either. Admissions rules change between cycles — check the source before you act on it.



