Transferring into MedicineThe UK universities that publish an internal route
Photo: Chrysi Chrysochou · CC BY-SA 3.0 · cropped
Photo: Suicasmo · CC BY-SA 4.0 · Photo: Clem_nat · CC BY-SA 4.0 · Photo: Chemical Engineer / Wikimedia Commons · CC BY-SA 4.0
Very few UK universities publish a route for moving from another degree into medicine. We could confirm only four on official pages — Birmingham, Plymouth, Anglia Ruskin and Leicester — and each is open only to students on that university's own feeder courses, with minimum marks and an interview or selection stage.
Several other medical schools state the opposite: Imperial, Nottingham, Manchester, UEA, Lincoln and Aston say they do not accept transfers onto medicine; Manchester and Aston tell students on another degree to apply through UCAS in the final year of that degree instead.
Which UK universities let you transfer into medicine?
Thresholds are copied from each scheme's page. All four describe the route as competitive or limited; none guarantees a place.
| University | From | Into | Key conditions |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of Birmingham | BSc/MSci Biomedical Sciences, year 1 (Edgbaston and Dubai students eligible) | MBChB Year 1 | Apply in semester 1; shortlisting needs to be on track for at least 70.0% with no module below 65%; MMI score at least the average of UCAS entrants; no UCAT; only one application, and those previously interviewed and unsuccessful at Birmingham are not normally eligible. |
| University of Plymouth | Stage one of BSc Biomedical Science or BSc Medical Sciences at Plymouth | BMBS stage one | AAB at A level (A in Biology and a second science); at least 70% average across year 1; apply via UCAS by the medicine deadline; interview but no UCAT; 20 interviews and 10 offers across medicine and dentistry. |
| Anglia Ruskin University | Year 1 of BSc Medical Science or Cert HE Medical Science, BSc Biomedical Science, or MOptom Optometry | MBChB Year 1, from September 2028 | At least 75% average with no module below 65%; a current UCAT score; GCSE and 112 UCAS tariff points; UCAS application by 15 October; MMI; one attempt only. |
| University of Leicester | BSc Clinical Sciences, end of Year 1 | MBChB Year 2 | Transfer if places are available on the MBChB, through a competitive process meeting that year’s academic and entry criteria. |
Which medical schools say they do not accept transfers?
Statements from course and admissions pages. Where a school says nothing, ask its admissions team.
| School | What the school says |
|---|---|
| Imperial College London | Does not accept students who have started or are studying at another medical school, and does not accept transfers from other Imperial courses. |
| University of Nottingham | Requests to transfer onto its medicine course from another Nottingham course or another university are not considered. |
| University of Manchester | “We don’t accept transfers.” Students in the first year of another degree should apply in the final year of that degree. |
| University of East Anglia | Unable to accept transfer students because of the integrated nature of the course. |
| University of Lincoln | “Transfers onto this programme are not permitted.” |
| Aston University | Will not consider applicants wishing to transfer from a medical degree or a degree in any other subject; expects graduates to apply in the final year of their degree. |
| Queen's University Belfast | Transfers from other medical schools are not permitted. |
| Edge Hill University | No transfers from other medical programmes; will consider students in the early stages of a non-medical degree who withdraw, if they meet standard MBChB entry criteria (no recognition of prior learning). |
| University of Plymouth | No transfers or degree study considered from any university other than Plymouth. |
How does starting another degree affect student finance for medicine?
For students from England, GOV.UK sets out two systems depending on when the new course starts:
- Courses starting before 1 January 2027: you usually only get student finance for a first higher education qualification; Tuition Fee Loans go to the final years of a new course, calculated as the years you apply for, plus one, minus the years already studied.
- Courses starting on or after 1 January 2027 (the Lifelong Learning Entitlement): a total Tuition Fee Loan amount of £39,160, with previous government tuition funding deducted — though GOV.UK says you may get more through LLE funding for certain courses such as medicine.
Plymouth also warns applicants who have already completed a degree that they may not be eligible for a second student loan. Check with Student Finance before withdrawing from a course.
Transferring into medicine — FAQs
Sources (accessed 19 September 2026)
Every fact on this page comes from one of these documents, each opened on the date above. Where a source did not state something, this page does not state it either. Admissions rules change between cycles — check the source before you act on it.



