Skip to main content
Australian Medical school comparison

Adelaide vs Melbourne

Adelaide and Melbourne are both Australian medical schools, but the path to an offer at each is meaningfully different. Adelaide is in South Australia while Melbourne is in Victoria. State of origin matters here: several schools rank local applicants ahead of interstate ones. Adelaide uses UCAT-ANZ; Melbourne uses GAMSAT and MCAT.

That mismatch means either preparing two assessments or choosing the school whose test suits you. They also recruit at different stages: Adelaide runs school-leaver (undergraduate) entry, Melbourne runs graduate entry.

Side-by-side comparison

Adelaide

Adelaide

Quick comparison

Location
Adelaide, Australia
Entry pathway
Undergraduate
Admission tests
UCAT-ANZ
GAMSAT
-
UCAT-ANZ
UCAT ANZ alone decides who is interviewed (except Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander pathway and Northern Community Care Stream applicants, who do not sit it): Sections 1–3 carry equal weight, and Section 4 (Situational Judgement, reported separately on 300–900 and not part of the /2700 cognitive total) separates only lower-ranked candidates with equal totals across the other three. UCAT ANZ then carries 20% of the final domestic offer ranking, alongside Interview 40% and Academic 40%. Adelaide publishes no cut-off and will not comment on score competitiveness; the South Australian advantage is structural — a minimum 50% of school-leaver interview invitations must go to South Australian applicants — not a published score gap. For national calibration only (not an Adelaide threshold), the official UCAT ANZ 2026 sitting used for 2027 entry had a total cognitive mean of 1,964, median 1,950, 8th decile 2,220 and 9th decile 2,340 across 17,341 candidates.
ATAR
Minimum entry ATAR 90.00 (adjusted selection rank). Adelaide states that 'the actual ATAR required for entry is typically much higher' than the 90.00 eligibility floor but 'does not disclose ATAR cut-off scores from previous years'. Its published ATAR profile for Semester 1 2026 (ABP171 and ABP271) suppresses every figure as '<5', because almost all offers are made on ATAR plus additional criteria rather than ATAR alone — so no median, lowest or guaranteed selection rank exists in the public record, and figures such as 99.75 are unsourced. Adelaide explicitly does not publish ATAR cut-offs.
Interview format
Multiple Mini Interview — a minimum of six stations of 10 minutes each, one interviewer per station, held online over Zoom (2027 entry; Adelaide states there is no in-person, telephone or alternative-platform option).
Post-interview chance
Not published by Adelaide, and no admissions centre or Medical Deans report gives an interview-to-offer rate for this program. The only Tier-1 figures are approximately 600 domestic applicants invited to interview and 160 students commencing in Semester 1 2026 (28 of them international) — enough to show that a ~35% domestic conversion is unsupported, but not enough to state a rate, since commencements are not offers and the same interview also covers Dentistry and Oral Health applicants.
Decision date
January

Melbourne

Parkville

Quick comparison

Location
Parkville, Australia
Entry pathway
Graduate
Admission tests
GAMSAT + MCAT
GAMSAT
Minimum 50 in each of the three sections. Ranking formula uses GAMSAT at 25% post-interview (MMI 50%, GPA 25%, GAMSAT 25%). Pre-interview shortlisting weights GPA and GAMSAT equally (50/50). UoM does not publish accepted or cut-off GAMSAT scores for any cycle, and because it ranks on the three sections weighted equally rather than on ACER's overall score, an 'average accepted GAMSAT' is not a figure its process produces. No Tier-1 source confirms one.
UCAT-ANZ
-
ATAR
-
Interview format
Recorded Online Multi Mini-Interview (ROMMI) — 8 stations, ~5 minutes each, recorded and asynchronous with no live interviewer; Rural and North Western pathway applicants additionally sit a 3-station real-time online MMI
Post-interview chance
UoM does not publish interview-to-offer conversion. What is published is the hurdle: an applicant must achieve a satisfactory standard in their overall MMI score AND be above the cut-score in 5 of 8 stations to be eligible for an offer, after which the MMI carries 50% of the final ranking (70% on the rural and North Western pathways). UoM no longer publishes a numeric minimum percentage for the overall MMI score.
Decision date
October-November

Adelaide vs Melbourne - in detail

Admission tests compared

UCAT-ANZ cut-offs. Adelaide — UCAT ANZ alone decides who is interviewed (except Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander pathway and Northern Community Care Stream applicants, who do not sit it): Sections 1–3 carry equal weight, and… Melbourne — no published cut-off.

GAMSAT cut-offs. Adelaide — not used or not published. Melbourne — Minimum 50 in each of the three sections. Ranking formula uses GAMSAT at 25% post-interview (MMI 50%, GPA 25%, GAMSAT 25%). Pre-interview shortlisting weights GPA and GAMSAT equally (50/50). UoM does…

Timing shapes the choice as much as the score. GAMSAT is graduate-only and sits in March and September; UCAT-ANZ is mostly undergraduate and sits in July. A few schools run their own selection model with no national test at all.

ATAR and academic profile

Adelaide requires Adjusted ATAR / selection rank of 90.00 minimum (an eligibility floor, not a cut-off) + UCAT ANZ + MMI. The prerequisite is any ONE of SACE Stage 2 Biology, Chemistry or Mathematical Methods (or equivalent); high proficiency in written and spoken English is assumed knowledge, not a prerequisite.

The medicine program does not apply subject adjustment factors — only the Universities Equity Scheme.

Separate routes: a dedicated Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander pathway (no UCAT ANZ; all eligible applicants interviewed), a Rural Background pathway (approximately 41 places), a Northern Community Care Stream (up to 20 places, no UCAT ANZ, SATAC codes ABP292 non-bonded / ABP293 bonded), a Higher Education pathway (minimum 10 places, open only to applicants whose sole tertiary record is at Adelaide University or an antecedent institution, with 1–2 years completed at a credit average / GPA 5.0), and a Work and Life Experience route via a competitive STAT score.

Adelaide notes entry requirements for this degree are provisional and subject to change.

Melbourne requires Bachelor degree normally completed within 10 years of commencing the MD (an older degree is acceptable if a graduate diploma, masters or PhD was completed within the last 10 years), minimum weighted GPA 5.0/7.0; GAMSAT minimum 50 in EACH of the three sections for standard-pathway domestic and onshore international applicants — UoM weights the three sections equally and explicitly does not use the GAMSAT 'overall score' — or MCAT 492+ for offshore international applicants; recorded online MMI.

No prerequisite subjects.

ATAR. Adelaide — Minimum entry ATAR 90.00 (adjusted selection rank). Adelaide states that 'the actual ATAR required for entry is typically much higher' than the 90.00 eligibility floor but 'does not disclose ATAR… Melbourne — no published cut-off.

Graduate-entry GPA. Adelaide — not applicable or not published. Melbourne — Minimum weighted GPA 5.0/7.0. UoM weighting formula: (Final-2 × 1 + Final-1 × 2 + Final × 2) / 5. A completed PhD — not a Masters — can earn re-ranking in the applicant's favour: it must be in a…

Read every ATAR figure as a selection rank, not a raw score. Educational access bonuses, rural-origin uplift and Indigenous pathways all adjust it, so the published number is rarely the one that decides your application.

Interview formats

Both Adelaide and Melbourne use MMI interviews, so the underlying prep approach is the same — practise ethics frameworks, Australian health-system topics (Medicare, rural workforce, Indigenous health) and (for MMI) structured station responses against a timer.

That said, the specifics differ slightly: Adelaide runs multiple mini interview — a minimum of six stations of 10 minutes each, one interviewer per station, held online over zoom (2027…; Melbourne runs recorded online multi mini-interview (rommi) — 8 stations, ~5 minutes each, recorded and asynchronous with no live interviewer; rural and north western….

Mock practice tailored to each school's exact format is the highest-leverage prep.

Interview windows: Adelaide interviews in November-December; Melbourne in September (2027 intake: rural-pathway MMIs online in the week of 7 September 2026; standard domestic and international MMIs online in the week of 14 September 2026. Interview offers go out mid-August for international and rural applicants and late August for domestic applicants).

Curriculum and teaching style

Both schools deliver a Integrated-style curriculum, so day-to-day study habits will feel similar across years 1-3.

Specifics: 6-year undergraduate Bachelor of Medical Studies + Doctor of Medicine (BMS/MD; 3 + 3). Taught at the Adelaide City Campus (Adelaide Health and Medical 4-year graduate MD. Year 1 foundations and clinical skills at Parkville. Years 2-3 clinical placements across Royal Melbourne, Austin, Western, St Vin

Intake size: Adelaide — Adelaide does not publish a total place count, though it publishes sub-pathway reservations (approximately 41 Rural Background, up to 20 Northern Community…; Melbourne — 2027 cycle (indicative): 179 CSP + 71 BMP (39 via GEMSAS + 32 via MD Rural Pathway) + up to 105 full-fee….

A larger cohort means more peer breadth; a smaller cohort means more tutor contact.

Post-interview offer rate

Adelaide: Not published by Adelaide, and no admissions centre or Medical Deans report gives an interview-to-offer rate for this program.

The only Tier-1 figures are approximately 600 domestic applicants invited to interview and 160 students commencing in Semester 1 2026 (28 of them international) — enough to show that a ~35% domestic conversion is unsupported, but not enough to state a rate, since commencements are not offers and the same interview also covers Dentistry and Oral Health applicants.

Melbourne: UoM does not publish interview-to-offer conversion. What is published is the hurdle: an applicant must achieve a satisfactory standard in their overall MMI score AND be above the cut-score in 5 of 8 stations to be eligible for an offer, after which the MMI carries 50% of the final ranking (70% on the rural and North Western pathways).

UoM no longer publishes a numeric minimum percentage for the overall MMI score.

Post-interview odds give you the clearest signal of how competitive each school is at the final stage — a school with a 60% post-interview success rate is structurally easier to convert than one at 25%, even if the interview thresholds look identical on paper.

What makes each distinctive

Adelaide: Adelaide runs South Australia's oldest medical school (est. 1885) as a 6-year undergraduate BMS+MD (3+3). Admission offer weighting: Academic 40% + UCAT cognitive 20% + Interview 40%. Strong rural pipeline via the Rural Clinical School (Whyalla, Port Lincoln, Mount Gambier).

Dedicated Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander pathway with no UCAT ANZ requirement (the former Wirltu Yarlu Access Pathway is not the route into this degree).

The University of Adelaide and UniSA amalgamated into Adelaide University on 1 January 2026, and the program now sits in Adelaide University's College of Health, School of Medicine; applications for 2027 entry opened via SATAC on 3 August 2026 and close 30 September 2026.

New for 2027 entry: a Northern Community Care Stream of up to 20 places (SATAC ABP292 non-bonded, ABP293 bonded) for applicants schooled in Adelaide's northern suburbs, ranked on ATAR or IB plus interview with no UCAT ANZ; applicants with any prior higher education record are excluded from this stream for the 2027 intake.

Melbourne: Melbourne runs Australia's flagship 4-year graduate-entry MD anchored across the Parkville biomedical precinct (Royal Melbourne, Royal Children's, Peter MacCallum) and extending to the Austin, Epworth, Northern, Royal Melbourne, St Vincent's and Western clinical schools. Pre-interview ranking weights GPA and GAMSAT equally; the recorded online MMI then carries 50% of the final offer composite against GPA 25% and GAMSAT 25%.

Strong Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander entry stream via the Indigenous MD Student Entry Pathway, applied for directly through UoM rather than GEMSAS.

Which is right for you?

Start with the admission test: Adelaide needs UCAT-ANZ, Melbourne needs GAMSAT and MCAT. Preparing for one well beats splitting your time across two. Check your state of origin before you apply — Adelaide draws heavily on South Australia applicants and Melbourne on Victoria, and an interstate application often faces a materially higher bar.

They suit different stages too: Adelaide is school-leaver (undergraduate) entry, Melbourne is graduate entry. Your preference list should ultimately weight: which admission test you can realistically score well in, whether your state of origin gives you a bonus at either school, and where you'd actually want to live for four to six years.

Common questions

Adelaide uses UCAT-ANZ. Melbourne uses GAMSAT and MCAT. The test mismatch means you may need to prep two assessments simultaneously, or you can pick the school whose admission test you're stronger in. GAMSAT is graduate-only and sat in March/September; UCAT-ANZ is undergraduate-leaning and sat in July; some schools (notably Bond and JCU) run their own selection model with no national test.

School data reviewed by the NextGen MedPrep editorial team — last reviewed .