Skip to main content
Australian Medical school comparison

Monash vs Notre Dame Sydney

Monash and Notre Dame Sydney are both Australian medical schools, but the path to an offer at each is meaningfully different. Monash is in Victoria while Notre Dame Sydney is in New South Wales. State of origin matters here: several schools rank local applicants ahead of interstate ones.

Monash uses UCAT-ANZ and ISAT; Notre Dame Sydney uses GAMSAT, CASPer and MCAT. That mismatch means either preparing two assessments or choosing the school whose test suits you. They also recruit at different stages: Monash runs both undergraduate and graduate entry, Notre Dame Sydney runs graduate entry.

Side-by-side comparison

Monash

Clayton

Quick comparison

Location
Clayton, Australia
Entry pathway
Dual (UG + Grad)
Admission tests
UCAT-ANZ + ISAT
GAMSAT
Not required and not accepted on any Monash pathway - both Graduate Entry pages state applicants are not required to sit the GAMSAT, and Direct Entry has never used it. Monash publishes no date for its removal.
UCAT-ANZ
Domestic Direct Entry only (international applicants sit ISAT). Monash publishes its December-round interview cut-offs. On the current three-subtest /2700 scale, 2026 entry cleared at 2380 (94th percentile, 192 interview offers) for Victorian-based non-DRL applicants and 2050 (66th percentile, 193 offers) for Dean's Rural List applicants. The 2027-entry cut-offs are not yet published - invitations are scheduled for release on 12 and 14 October 2026. Earlier cycles sat on the retired /3600 four-subtest scale (2025 entry 3140 non-DRL / 2730 DRL; 2024 entry 3020 / 2670; 2023 entry 2990 / 2620) and are NOT convertible: UCAT-ANZ dropped Abstract Reasoning from the test sat in 2025 (first used for 2026 entry), so no ratio conversion between the scales is valid. Situational Judgement is banded separately and is used only to break ties on equal cognitive totals.
ATAR
Direct Entry minimum eligibility ATAR 90. Monash publishes lowest-offer ATARs rather than a competitive cut-off: for 2026 entry the lowest ATAR to receive an offer was 96.10 (standard School Leaver Entry), 95.05 (CSP Extended Rural Cohort) and 91.25 (CSP Bonded School Leaver Entry). Monash notes these are the lowest ATAR BEFORE equity-scheme/Dean's Rural List adjustment, while ranking itself uses the adjusted ATAR. No median and no guaranteed ATAR is published.
Interview format
Multiple Mini Interview, online via Zoom (6 stations × 8 min interview + 2 min reading; 4 stations for international applicants)
Post-interview chance
Monash does not publish an interview-to-offer conversion rate. It does publish round volumes: for 2026 entry it made 192 December interview offers to Victorian-based non-DRL applicants and 193 to Dean's Rural List applicants, before two further interview rounds in January, against approximately 234 domestic places - so more applicants are interviewed than there are places. January-round interview volumes are not published, so no conversion percentage can be stated.
Decision date
Direct Entry mid-to-late January (VTAC January Rounds 1 and 2); Graduate Entry early December

Notre Dame Sydney

Sydney

Quick comparison

Location
Sydney, Australia
Entry pathway
Graduate
Admission tests
GAMSAT + CASPer + MCAT
GAMSAT
Minimum total of 52 with at least 50 in each subsection; UNDA uses the unweighted average of the three GAMSAT sections, not the overall weighted score. Notre Dame publishes the average GAMSAT of applicants OFFERED AN INTERVIEW at Sydney: 67.84 (2024 entry), 68.08 (2025 entry), 68.23 (2026 entry). These are interview-shortlist averages, not the scores of applicants who received a place, and UNDA states they exclude applicants considered on additional criteria including rurality and facilitated interview pathway eligibility. No cut-off is published.
UCAT-ANZ
-
ATAR
-
Interview format
MMI (recorded/asynchronous online); live online panel for international applicants
Post-interview chance
Not publicly disclosed.
Decision date
Late October-early November (main round); additional offers November 2026-January 2027

Monash vs Notre Dame Sydney - in detail

Admission tests compared

UCAT-ANZ cut-offs. Monash — Domestic Direct Entry only (international applicants sit ISAT). Monash publishes its December-round interview cut-offs. On the current three-subtest /2700 scale, 2026 entry cleared at 2380 (94th… Notre Dame Sydney — no published cut-off.

GAMSAT cut-offs. Monash — Not required and not accepted on any Monash pathway - both Graduate Entry pages state applicants are not required to sit the GAMSAT, and Direct Entry has never used it.

Monash publishes no date for… Notre Dame Sydney — Minimum total of 52 with at least 50 in each subsection; UNDA uses the unweighted average of the three GAMSAT sections, not the overall weighted score. Notre Dame publishes the average GAMSAT of…

Timing shapes the choice as much as the score. GAMSAT is graduate-only and sits in March and September; UCAT-ANZ is mostly undergraduate and sits in July. A few schools run their own selection model with no national test at all.

ATAR and academic profile

Monash requires Direct Entry (domestic): school-leavers only - Year 12 completed no more than two years earlier and NO commenced tertiary study (Certificate IV and above disqualifies). Minimum ATAR 90 (2026-entry lowest offers: 96.10 standard, 95.05 ERC, 91.25 BMP); VCE English (study score 35 EAL or 30 non-EAL) and Chemistry (30) prerequisites, Biology not required; UCAT-ANZ; MMI.

Monash states the three components - ATAR aggregate (including adjustment factors), UCAT-ANZ total and MMI - are equally weighted. Direct Entry (international): ISAT (170 overall, 165 per section) instead of UCAT-ANZ, with published equivalents of VCE 97.50 / IB 39.

Graduate Entry (domestic): a nominated Monash degree (Bachelor of Biomedical Science, Pharmacy (Hons), Physiotherapy (Hons), or Bachelor of Science with five specified units) or Federation University's Bachelor of Biomedical Science (Gippsland Partnership Program), WAM ≥ 70, ranked on WAM 40% + MMI 60%; at least 70% of places are reserved for Monash Bachelor of Biomedical Science graduates.

Graduate Entry (international): any internationally recognised bachelor degree with significant, broad biomedical science content at GPA ≥ 6.0/7.0. No GAMSAT and no SJT on any pathway; Graduate Entry applicants can be considered only twice, and the MMI may be attended only once per course.

Notre Dame Sydney requires Bachelor degree with minimum GPA 5.2/7.0 (weighted from 3 years FTE); GAMSAT 52 overall + 50 in each subsection; Casper (mandatory — applicants without a Casper score are not considered; last accepted sitting 11 June 2026 for the 2026-27 cycle); recorded/asynchronous online MMI.

ATAR. Monash — Direct Entry minimum eligibility ATAR 90. Monash publishes lowest-offer ATARs rather than a competitive cut-off: for 2026 entry the lowest ATAR to receive an offer was 96.10 (standard School Leaver… Notre Dame Sydney — no published cut-off.

Graduate-entry GPA.

Monash — Graduate Entry (domestic): minimum WAM 70 to be eligible, but Monash publishes the non-DRL WAM cut-off to be INVITED TO INTERVIEW - 82.313 for 2026 entry (81.179 for 2025, 80.313 for 2024, 82.386 for… Notre Dame Sydney — Minimum weighted GPA of 5.2/7.0 over three FTE years, with GPA years progressively weighted Final-minus-2 x1, Final-minus-1 x2, Final x3.

Notre Dame publishes the average GPA of applicants OFFERED AN…

Read every ATAR figure as a selection rank, not a raw score. Educational access bonuses, rural-origin uplift and Indigenous pathways all adjust it, so the published number is rarely the one that decides your application.

Interview formats

Both Monash and Notre Dame Sydney use MMI interviews, so the underlying prep approach is the same — practise ethics frameworks, Australian health-system topics (Medicare, rural workforce, Indigenous health) and (for MMI) structured station responses against a timer.

That said, the specifics differ slightly: Monash runs multiple mini interview, online via zoom (6 stations × 8 min interview + 2 min reading; 4 stations for international applicants); Notre Dame Sydney runs mmi (recorded/asynchronous online); live online panel for international applicants. Mock practice tailored to each school's exact format is the highest-leverage prep.

Interview windows: Monash interviews in Direct Entry December-January; Graduate Entry September (2027-entry cycle); Notre Dame Sydney in September-October (GEMSAS: interview offers released early September 2026).

Curriculum and teaching style

Both schools deliver a Integrated-style curriculum, so day-to-day study habits will feel similar across years 1-3.

Specifics: Both pathways award the same degree, Bachelor of Medical Science and Doctor of Medicine, and share the same four clinical schools. Direct Entry (5 yea 4-year graduate MD. Foundation Years 1-2 are delivered principally through Problem Based Learning in small groups led by a clinician; Clinical Years 3

Intake size: Monash — Direct Entry (Clayton): approximately 234 domestic places, inclusive of 30 Extended Rural Cohort and approximately 67 Bonded Medical Program places; Notre Dame Sydney — 2027 cycle: 40 CSP + 17 BMP + up to 57 full-fee domestic (via GEMSAS) + up to 35 full-fee international (direct….

A larger cohort means more peer breadth; a smaller cohort means more tutor contact.

Post-interview offer rate

Monash: Monash does not publish an interview-to-offer conversion rate. It does publish round volumes: for 2026 entry it made 192 December interview offers to Victorian-based non-DRL applicants and 193 to Dean's Rural List applicants, before two further interview rounds in January, against approximately 234 domestic places - so more applicants are interviewed than there are places.

January-round interview volumes are not published, so no conversion percentage can be stated. Notre Dame Sydney: Not publicly disclosed.

Post-interview odds give you the clearest signal of how competitive each school is at the final stage — a school with a 60% post-interview success rate is structurally easier to convert than one at 25%, even if the interview thresholds look identical on paper.

What makes each distinctive

Monash: Monash says it is the only Victorian university offering both a direct-entry school-leaver pathway and a graduate-entry pathway to the SAME degree - Bachelor of Medical Science and Doctor of Medicine.

Direct Entry (M6011) is 5 years from Clayton on equally weighted ATAR + UCAT-ANZ + MMI; Graduate Entry (M6018) is 4 years with Year A at Monash Rural Health Churchill, selected on WAM 40% + MMI 60% with no admission test.

DOMESTIC graduate entry is closed to outside graduates - only nominated Monash degrees plus Federation University's Gippsland Partnership Bachelor of Biomedical Science qualify - but INTERNATIONAL graduate entry is open to any recognised bachelor degree with substantial biomedical content.

Direct Entry interviews run in three rounds: a first round in December ranked on UCAT-ANZ alone (Dean's Rural List applicants, then Victorian-based non-DRL applicants), a second round in January for Victorian and DRL applicants ranked on equally weighted UCAT-ANZ and ATAR aggregate, and a third January round for applicants who completed Year 12 interstate or overseas.

Notre Dame Sydney: Notre Dame retired its selection Portfolio from the 2024 intake and put Casper in its place as the non-academic component; the interview format was not part of that change.

Casper is 30% of the pre-interview composite — the same weighting Notre Dame Fremantle uses — while Wollongong leans on Casper harder still, ranking for interview on 50% Casper plus 50% UOW admissions bonuses. Catholic ethos shapes the curriculum (medical ethics, end-of-life care, social justice) but the program is open to applicants of all faiths and none.

Strong placement network in Sydney Catholic and public hospitals, extending to Werribee Mercy and St John of God Ballarat in Victoria.

Notre Dame also runs entry pathways no other Australian medical school offers: a Priority Entry Pathway reserving MD places for its own Bachelor of Biomedical Science graduates (first Priority Entry in the 2026-27 intake, for students admitted to that degree from 2024 onwards; GPA >=6.0, unweighted GAMSAT >=55, Casper no lower than 1 SD below the mean, Notre Dame preferenced first through GEMSAS), plus facilitated interview pathways reaching the Sydney campus for Notre Dame undergraduate graduates (up to 10 across Fremantle and Sydney), Notre Dame Graduate Diploma or Master of Health and Medical Sciences graduates (up to 25) and ACU Bachelor of Biomedical Sciences graduates (up to 5, Sydney only).

Notre Dame's Pre-Medicine Certificate facilitated pathway is a Fremantle pathway and does not apply at Sydney. 2027 cycle: 40 CSP + 17 BMP + up to 57 full-fee domestic through GEMSAS, plus up to 35 full-fee international places that are NOT offered through GEMSAS in 2027 — international applicants must apply direct to Notre Dame's International Admissions Office.

GEMSAS notes the numbers are subject to change and that the quota includes the assured and priority pathways.

Which is right for you?

Start with the admission test: Monash needs UCAT-ANZ and ISAT, Notre Dame Sydney needs GAMSAT, CASPer and MCAT. Preparing for one well beats splitting your time across two.

Check your state of origin before you apply — Monash draws heavily on Victoria applicants and Notre Dame Sydney on New South Wales, and an interstate application often faces a materially higher bar. They suit different stages too: Monash is both undergraduate and graduate entry, Notre Dame Sydney is graduate entry.

Your preference list should ultimately weight: which admission test you can realistically score well in, whether your state of origin gives you a bonus at either school, and where you'd actually want to live for four to six years.

Common questions

Monash uses UCAT-ANZ and ISAT. Notre Dame Sydney uses GAMSAT, CASPer and MCAT. The test mismatch means you may need to prep two assessments simultaneously, or you can pick the school whose admission test you're stronger in. GAMSAT is graduate-only and sat in March/September; UCAT-ANZ is undergraduate-leaning and sat in July; some schools (notably Bond and JCU) run their own selection model with no national test.

School data reviewed by the NextGen MedPrep editorial team.