Skip to main content
Australian Medical school comparison

Adelaide vs Charles Sturt (Rural)

Adelaide and Charles Sturt (Rural) are both Australian medical schools, but the path to an offer at each is meaningfully different. Adelaide is in South Australia while Charles Sturt (Rural) is in New South Wales. State of origin matters here: several schools rank local applicants ahead of interstate ones.

Both select on UCAT-ANZ, so a single sitting can support both applications.

Side-by-side comparison

Adelaide

Adelaide

Quick comparison

Location
Adelaide, Australia
Entry pathway
Undergraduate
Admission tests
UCAT-ANZ
GAMSAT
-
UCAT-ANZ
UCAT ANZ alone decides who is interviewed (except Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander pathway and Northern Community Care Stream applicants, who do not sit it): Sections 1–3 carry equal weight, and Section 4 (Situational Judgement, reported separately on 300–900 and not part of the /2700 cognitive total) separates only lower-ranked candidates with equal totals across the other three. UCAT ANZ then carries 20% of the final domestic offer ranking, alongside Interview 40% and Academic 40%. Adelaide publishes no cut-off and will not comment on score competitiveness; the South Australian advantage is structural — a minimum 50% of school-leaver interview invitations must go to South Australian applicants — not a published score gap. For national calibration only (not an Adelaide threshold), the official UCAT ANZ 2026 sitting used for 2027 entry had a total cognitive mean of 1,964, median 1,950, 8th decile 2,220 and 9th decile 2,340 across 17,341 candidates.
ATAR
Minimum entry ATAR 90.00 (adjusted selection rank). Adelaide states that 'the actual ATAR required for entry is typically much higher' than the 90.00 eligibility floor but 'does not disclose ATAR cut-off scores from previous years'. Its published ATAR profile for Semester 1 2026 (ABP171 and ABP271) suppresses every figure as '<5', because almost all offers are made on ATAR plus additional criteria rather than ATAR alone — so no median, lowest or guaranteed selection rank exists in the public record, and figures such as 99.75 are unsourced. Adelaide explicitly does not publish ATAR cut-offs.
Interview format
Multiple Mini Interview — a minimum of six stations of 10 minutes each, one interviewer per station, held online over Zoom (2027 entry; Adelaide states there is no in-person, telephone or alternative-platform option).
Post-interview chance
Not published by Adelaide, and no admissions centre or Medical Deans report gives an interview-to-offer rate for this program. The only Tier-1 figures are approximately 600 domestic applicants invited to interview and 160 students commencing in Semester 1 2026 (28 of them international) — enough to show that a ~35% domestic conversion is unsupported, but not enough to state a rate, since commencements are not offers and the same interview also covers Dentistry and Oral Health applicants.
Decision date
January

Charles Sturt (Rural)

Orange

Quick comparison

Location
Orange, Australia
Entry pathway
Undergraduate
Admission tests
UCAT-ANZ
GAMSAT
-
UCAT-ANZ
UCAT ANZ alone produces the ranked list that determines interview invitations, and it then carries 25 per cent of CSU's published final selection criteria against 75 per cent for the MMI. ATAR is a hurdle, not the ranking device. CSU states the required UCAT level 'will vary each year, determined by the performance of all applicants competing for a place in the... course and will not be disclosed', so no cut-off can be quoted. Sit UCAT ANZ in the same calendar year you apply; scores are valid for that year only. For scale, the UCAT ANZ 2026 sitting (2027 entry, 17,341 candidates) had a mean total cognitive score of 1,964/2700, an 8th decile of 2,220 and a 9th decile of 2,340.
ATAR
ATAR hurdle (2027 entry, CSU standalone): 95.50 non-rural; 91.50 via the Rural Entry Admissions Scheme. There is no Greater Western Sydney tier at Charles Sturt — the 93.50 Western Sydney resident hurdle belongs to Western Sydney University's own course (UAC 725505). The ATAR is a minimum to be met, not the ranking instrument; UCAT ANZ (25%) and the MMI (75%) do the ranking. Equivalents: IB 38 (non-rural) / 35 (rural); completed undergraduate degree GPA 5.5 (non-rural) / 4.9 (rural).
Interview format
Multi-Station Mini Interview, online via Zoom (6 stations, 8 min per station, scenario-based)
Post-interview chance
Charles Sturt does not publish interview or offer numbers, so no interview-to-offer rate can be quoted.
Decision date
January

Adelaide vs Charles Sturt (Rural) - in detail

Admission tests compared

UCAT-ANZ cut-offs.

Adelaide — UCAT ANZ alone decides who is interviewed (except Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander pathway and Northern Community Care Stream applicants, who do not sit it): Sections 1–3 carry equal weight, and… Charles Sturt (Rural) — UCAT ANZ alone produces the ranked list that determines interview invitations, and it then carries 25 per cent of CSU's published final selection criteria against 75 per cent for the MMI.

ATAR is a…

Timing shapes the choice as much as the score. GAMSAT is graduate-only and sits in March and September; UCAT-ANZ is mostly undergraduate and sits in July. A few schools run their own selection model with no national test at all.

ATAR and academic profile

Adelaide requires Adjusted ATAR / selection rank of 90.00 minimum (an eligibility floor, not a cut-off) + UCAT ANZ + MMI. The prerequisite is any ONE of SACE Stage 2 Biology, Chemistry or Mathematical Methods (or equivalent); high proficiency in written and spoken English is assumed knowledge, not a prerequisite.

The medicine program does not apply subject adjustment factors — only the Universities Equity Scheme.

Separate routes: a dedicated Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander pathway (no UCAT ANZ; all eligible applicants interviewed), a Rural Background pathway (approximately 41 places), a Northern Community Care Stream (up to 20 places, no UCAT ANZ, SATAC codes ABP292 non-bonded / ABP293 bonded), a Higher Education pathway (minimum 10 places, open only to applicants whose sole tertiary record is at Adelaide University or an antecedent institution, with 1–2 years completed at a credit average / GPA 5.0), and a Work and Life Experience route via a competitive STAT score.

Adelaide notes entry requirements for this degree are provisional and subject to change.

Charles Sturt (Rural) requires ATAR 95.50 hurdle (non-rural) or 91.50 (Rural Entry Admissions Scheme), 2027 entry; UCAT-ANZ sat in the year of application, used to rank for interview and worth 25% of the published selection criteria; a six-station virtual MMI worth 75%; REAS applicants verify ASGS-RA 2-5 rural residency via DoctorConnect plus a Rural Confirmation form; open to Australian or New Zealand citizens and Australian permanent residents only.

ATAR. Adelaide — Minimum entry ATAR 90.00 (adjusted selection rank). Adelaide states that 'the actual ATAR required for entry is typically much higher' than the 90.00 eligibility floor but 'does not disclose ATAR… Charles Sturt (Rural) — ATAR hurdle (2027 entry, CSU standalone): 95.50 non-rural; 91.50 via the Rural Entry Admissions Scheme.

There is no Greater Western Sydney tier at Charles Sturt — the 93.50 Western Sydney resident…

Read every ATAR figure as a selection rank, not a raw score. Educational access bonuses, rural-origin uplift and Indigenous pathways all adjust it, so the published number is rarely the one that decides your application.

Interview formats

Both Adelaide and Charles Sturt (Rural) use MMI interviews, so the underlying prep approach is the same — practise ethics frameworks, Australian health-system topics (Medicare, rural workforce, Indigenous health) and (for MMI) structured station responses against a timer.

That said, the specifics differ slightly: Adelaide runs multiple mini interview — a minimum of six stations of 10 minutes each, one interviewer per station, held online over zoom (2027…; Charles Sturt (Rural) runs multi-station mini interview, online via zoom (6 stations, 8 min per station, scenario-based). Mock practice tailored to each school's exact format is the highest-leverage prep.

Interview windows: Adelaide interviews in November-December; Charles Sturt (Rural) in Late November 2026 per UAC (CSU's own key dates say November; First Nations panel interviews late November-early December).

Curriculum and teaching style

Both schools deliver a Integrated-style curriculum, so day-to-day study habits will feel similar across years 1-3.

Specifics: 6-year undergraduate Bachelor of Medical Studies + Doctor of Medicine (BMS/MD; 3 + 3). Taught at the Adelaide City Campus (Adelaide Health and Medical 5-year undergraduate program: Bachelor of Clinical Science (Medicine) + Doctor of Medicine (admission at AQF 7, award at AQF 9; an exit-only Bachelor

Intake size: Adelaide — Adelaide does not publish a total place count, though it publishes sub-pathway reservations (approximately 41 Rural Background, up to 20 Northern Community…; Charles Sturt (Rural) — 47 Commonwealth Supported Places a year from 2026, after an extra 10 CSPs were allocated (implying about 37 previously, though CSU does….

A larger cohort means more peer breadth; a smaller cohort means more tutor contact.

Post-interview offer rate

Adelaide: Not published by Adelaide, and no admissions centre or Medical Deans report gives an interview-to-offer rate for this program.

The only Tier-1 figures are approximately 600 domestic applicants invited to interview and 160 students commencing in Semester 1 2026 (28 of them international) — enough to show that a ~35% domestic conversion is unsupported, but not enough to state a rate, since commencements are not offers and the same interview also covers Dentistry and Oral Health applicants.

Charles Sturt (Rural): Charles Sturt does not publish interview or offer numbers, so no interview-to-offer rate can be quoted.

Post-interview odds give you the clearest signal of how competitive each school is at the final stage — a school with a 60% post-interview success rate is structurally easier to convert than one at 25%, even if the interview thresholds look identical on paper.

What makes each distinctive

Adelaide: Adelaide runs South Australia's oldest medical school (est. 1885) as a 6-year undergraduate BMS+MD (3+3). Admission offer weighting: Academic 40% + UCAT cognitive 20% + Interview 40%. Strong rural pipeline via the Rural Clinical School (Whyalla, Port Lincoln, Mount Gambier).

Dedicated Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander pathway with no UCAT ANZ requirement (the former Wirltu Yarlu Access Pathway is not the route into this degree).

The University of Adelaide and UniSA amalgamated into Adelaide University on 1 January 2026, and the program now sits in Adelaide University's College of Health, School of Medicine; applications for 2027 entry opened via SATAC on 3 August 2026 and close 30 September 2026.

New for 2027 entry: a Northern Community Care Stream of up to 20 places (SATAC ABP292 non-bonded, ABP293 bonded) for applicants schooled in Adelaide's northern suburbs, ranked on ATAR or IB plus interview with no UCAT ANZ; applicants with any prior higher education record are excluded from this stream for the 2027 intake.

Charles Sturt (Rural): A rurally-purposed medical school that now stands on its own: the AMC granted Charles Sturt standalone accreditation on 13 August 2025, to 31 March 2032 and commencing January 2026, ending the Joint Program in Medicine run with Western Sydney University since 2021.

CSU aims to select 'the majority of students who are of rural origin' and reserves a minimum of 80 per cent of interviews for rural applicants, but there is also a non-rural pathway, and places are not universally bonded — the Commonwealth sets the bonded/unbonded split, unbonded places go to the top-ranked applicants first and bonded places are then allocated automatically.

Years 3-5 run through a network of nine clinical schools across rural NSW and northern Victoria, with students allocated to a single clinical school and returning to the same community each year. On 'first': James Cook University's program commenced in 2000 as Australia's first medical school based outside a metropolitan area with an explicit rural, remote and Indigenous mission.

Which is right for you?

Check your state of origin before you apply — Adelaide draws heavily on South Australia applicants and Charles Sturt (Rural) on New South Wales, and an interstate application often faces a materially higher bar.

Your preference list should ultimately weight: which admission test you can realistically score well in, whether your state of origin gives you a bonus at either school, and where you'd actually want to live for four to six years.

Common questions

Adelaide uses UCAT-ANZ. Charles Sturt (Rural) uses UCAT-ANZ. Both schools share the same test stack — your single sitting can support both applications. GAMSAT is graduate-only and sat in March/September; UCAT-ANZ is undergraduate-leaning and sat in July; some schools (notably Bond and JCU) run their own selection model with no national test.

School data reviewed by the NextGen MedPrep editorial team — last reviewed .