Skip to main content
Australian Medical school comparison

Adelaide vs Tasmania

Adelaide and Tasmania are both Australian medical schools, but the path to an offer at each is meaningfully different. Adelaide is in South Australia while Tasmania is in Tasmania. State of origin matters here: several schools rank local applicants ahead of interstate ones. Adelaide uses UCAT-ANZ; Tasmania uses UCAT-ANZ, GAMSAT, ISAT and MCAT.

That mismatch means either preparing two assessments or choosing the school whose test suits you. They also recruit at different stages: Adelaide runs school-leaver (undergraduate) entry, Tasmania runs both undergraduate and graduate entry. The interview formats diverge — MMI vs Interview — and the prep approaches for the two are fundamentally different.

Side-by-side comparison

Adelaide

Adelaide

Quick comparison

Location
Adelaide, Australia
Entry pathway
Undergraduate
Admission tests
UCAT-ANZ
GAMSAT
-
UCAT-ANZ
UCAT ANZ alone decides who is interviewed (except Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander pathway and Northern Community Care Stream applicants, who do not sit it): Sections 1–3 carry equal weight, and Section 4 (Situational Judgement, reported separately on 300–900 and not part of the /2700 cognitive total) separates only lower-ranked candidates with equal totals across the other three. UCAT ANZ then carries 20% of the final domestic offer ranking, alongside Interview 40% and Academic 40%. Adelaide publishes no cut-off and will not comment on score competitiveness; the South Australian advantage is structural — a minimum 50% of school-leaver interview invitations must go to South Australian applicants — not a published score gap. For national calibration only (not an Adelaide threshold), the official UCAT ANZ 2026 sitting used for 2027 entry had a total cognitive mean of 1,964, median 1,950, 8th decile 2,220 and 9th decile 2,340 across 17,341 candidates.
ATAR
Minimum entry ATAR 90.00 (adjusted selection rank). Adelaide states that 'the actual ATAR required for entry is typically much higher' than the 90.00 eligibility floor but 'does not disclose ATAR cut-off scores from previous years'. Its published ATAR profile for Semester 1 2026 (ABP171 and ABP271) suppresses every figure as '<5', because almost all offers are made on ATAR plus additional criteria rather than ATAR alone — so no median, lowest or guaranteed selection rank exists in the public record, and figures such as 99.75 are unsourced. Adelaide explicitly does not publish ATAR cut-offs.
Interview format
Multiple Mini Interview — a minimum of six stations of 10 minutes each, one interviewer per station, held online over Zoom (2027 entry; Adelaide states there is no in-person, telephone or alternative-platform option).
Post-interview chance
Not published by Adelaide, and no admissions centre or Medical Deans report gives an interview-to-offer rate for this program. The only Tier-1 figures are approximately 600 domestic applicants invited to interview and 160 students commencing in Semester 1 2026 (28 of them international) — enough to show that a ~35% domestic conversion is unsupported, but not enough to state a rate, since commencements are not offers and the same interview also covers Dentistry and Oral Health applicants.
Decision date
January

Tasmania

Hobart

Quick comparison

Location
Hobart, Australia
Entry pathway
Dual (UG + Grad)
Admission tests
UCAT-ANZ + GAMSAT + ISAT + MCAT
GAMSAT
Previous-higher-education route: minimum score of 50 in all three sections of GAMSAT. Accepted sittings are the same as those used by GEMSAS, although the application itself goes direct to UTAS, not through GEMSAS. From 2027 the UTAS Bachelor of Biomedicine (M3X) quota also requires GAMSAT 50 in all three sections; the retiring BMedRes (53E) pathway required no admission test. UTAS publishes no offer-holder GAMSAT score.
UCAT-ANZ
No published domestic cut-off — UCAT-ANZ only separates applicants who share an ATAR, so there is no threshold to quote. UTAS sums the three cognitive subtests only (Verbal Reasoning, Decision Making, Quantitative Reasoning); Situational Judgement is excluded. International applicants must reach the 50th percentile or above: on the official UCAT ANZ 2026 distribution — the sitting used for 2027 entry — the 5th decile (median) total was 1,950/2700 (mean 1,964; 9th decile 2,340; 17,341 candidates).
ATAR
Domestic: minimum adjusted ATAR 95 — explicitly the minimum needed for an application to be considered, not a guarantee of an offer (UTAS: "achieving the minimum entry requirements does not guarantee an offer of a place"). International: minimum ATAR or equivalent rank 90. UTAS publishes no competitive cut-off, median or lowest-offer ATAR for this course, and no ATAR/selection-rank or student profile is published for it on CourseSeeker.
Interview format
No interview in standard selection — ATAR-first ranking with UCAT-ANZ tiebreaker (Aboriginal Entry Pathway applicants are interviewed; UTAS publishes no format)
Post-interview chance
N/A — no interview.
Decision date
Mid-December (first-round offers to Tasmanian Year 12 applicants on ATAR); January (interstate Year 12 and IB applicants) — the pattern UTAS publishes on its application-dates table each cycle. International applicants are handled in four offer rounds across the preceding year (rounds closing 30 May, 31 July, 30 September and 30 November), with offers made within two weeks of each round closing.

Adelaide vs Tasmania - in detail

Admission tests compared

UCAT-ANZ cut-offs. Adelaide — UCAT ANZ alone decides who is interviewed (except Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander pathway and Northern Community Care Stream applicants, who do not sit it): Sections 1–3 carry equal weight, and… Tasmania — No published domestic cut-off — UCAT-ANZ only separates applicants who share an ATAR, so there is no threshold to quote.

UTAS sums the three cognitive subtests only (Verbal Reasoning, Decision…

GAMSAT cut-offs. Adelaide — not used or not published. Tasmania — Previous-higher-education route: minimum score of 50 in all three sections of GAMSAT. Accepted sittings are the same as those used by GEMSAS, although the application itself goes direct to UTAS, not…

Timing shapes the choice as much as the score. GAMSAT is graduate-only and sits in March and September; UCAT-ANZ is mostly undergraduate and sits in July. A few schools run their own selection model with no national test at all.

ATAR and academic profile

Adelaide requires Adjusted ATAR / selection rank of 90.00 minimum (an eligibility floor, not a cut-off) + UCAT ANZ + MMI. The prerequisite is any ONE of SACE Stage 2 Biology, Chemistry or Mathematical Methods (or equivalent); high proficiency in written and spoken English is assumed knowledge, not a prerequisite.

The medicine program does not apply subject adjustment factors — only the Universities Equity Scheme.

Separate routes: a dedicated Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander pathway (no UCAT ANZ; all eligible applicants interviewed), a Rural Background pathway (approximately 41 places), a Northern Community Care Stream (up to 20 places, no UCAT ANZ, SATAC codes ABP292 non-bonded / ABP293 bonded), a Higher Education pathway (minimum 10 places, open only to applicants whose sole tertiary record is at Adelaide University or an antecedent institution, with 1–2 years completed at a credit average / GPA 5.0), and a Work and Life Experience route via a competitive STAT score.

Adelaide notes entry requirements for this degree are provisional and subject to change.

Tasmania requires School-leaver: minimum adjusted ATAR 95 (the bar to be considered — UTAS publishes no competitive cut-off or ATAR profile) + a valid UCAT-ANZ score, used only to separate applicants sitting on the same ATAR.

International school leavers need an ATAR-equivalent of 90 plus one of UCAT-ANZ at or above the 50th percentile, ISAT 170 overall (165 in each section), or MCAT 491 from the last five years; ISAT and MCAT are not accepted from domestic applicants. Applicants with previous higher education: minimum unweighted GPA 5.25 + GAMSAT minimum 50 in all three sections.

Year 12 English and Chemistry (within the last 5 years) are prerequisites. No interview in standard selection — the Aboriginal Entry Pathway is the one exception.

ATAR. Adelaide — Minimum entry ATAR 90.00 (adjusted selection rank).

Adelaide states that 'the actual ATAR required for entry is typically much higher' than the 90.00 eligibility floor but 'does not disclose ATAR… Tasmania — Domestic: minimum adjusted ATAR 95 — explicitly the minimum needed for an application to be considered, not a guarantee of an offer (UTAS: "achieving the minimum entry requirements does not guarantee…

Graduate-entry GPA. Adelaide — not applicable or not published. Tasmania — Previous-higher-education entry: minimum unweighted GPA 5.25 — the bar for an application to be considered, not a competitive GPA. Calculated across all tertiary study at AQF 7 and above (the first…

Read every ATAR figure as a selection rank, not a raw score. Educational access bonuses, rural-origin uplift and Indigenous pathways all adjust it, so the published number is rarely the one that decides your application.

Interview formats

Adelaide uses MMI (Multiple Mini Interview — a minimum of six stations of 10 minutes each, one interviewer per station, held online over Zoom (2027…); Tasmania uses Interview (No interview in standard selection — ATAR-first ranking with UCAT-ANZ tiebreaker (Aboriginal Entry Pathway applicants are interviewed; UTAS publishes no format)).

These two formats reward different skills — MMI emphasises breadth, station-recovery and structured answers under time pressure, while Interview rewards malleability and intellectual honesty.

If your strengths lie in conversational depth, either may suit you more. If you prefer discrete capsule answers under time pressure, Adelaide is the better fit.

Interview windows: Adelaide interviews in November-December; Tasmania in No interview (standard entry). Aboriginal Entry Pathway applicants are interviewed by representatives of the Medicine Admissions Committee; UTAS does not publish an interview window..

Curriculum and teaching style

Both schools deliver a Integrated-style curriculum, so day-to-day study habits will feel similar across years 1-3.

Specifics: 6-year undergraduate Bachelor of Medical Studies + Doctor of Medicine (BMS/MD; 3 + 3). Taught at the Adelaide City Campus (Adelaide Health and Medical 5-year undergraduate Bachelor of Medical Science and Doctor of Medicine (course code H3X; minimum 5 years, maximum 7; AQF level 7; 500 credit points —

Intake size: Adelaide — Adelaide does not publish a total place count, though it publishes sub-pathway reservations (approximately 41 Rural Background, up to 20 Northern Community…; Tasmania — UTAS does not publish a total intake for the BMedScMD, and no ATAR/selection-rank or student profile is published for the course on….

A larger cohort means more peer breadth; a smaller cohort means more tutor contact.

Post-interview offer rate

Adelaide: Not published by Adelaide, and no admissions centre or Medical Deans report gives an interview-to-offer rate for this program.

The only Tier-1 figures are approximately 600 domestic applicants invited to interview and 160 students commencing in Semester 1 2026 (28 of them international) — enough to show that a ~35% domestic conversion is unsupported, but not enough to state a rate, since commencements are not offers and the same interview also covers Dentistry and Oral Health applicants.

Tasmania: N/A — no interview.

Post-interview odds give you the clearest signal of how competitive each school is at the final stage — a school with a 60% post-interview success rate is structurally easier to convert than one at 25%, even if the interview thresholds look identical on paper.

What makes each distinctive

Adelaide: Adelaide runs South Australia's oldest medical school (est. 1885) as a 6-year undergraduate BMS+MD (3+3). Admission offer weighting: Academic 40% + UCAT cognitive 20% + Interview 40%. Strong rural pipeline via the Rural Clinical School (Whyalla, Port Lincoln, Mount Gambier).

Dedicated Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander pathway with no UCAT ANZ requirement (the former Wirltu Yarlu Access Pathway is not the route into this degree).

The University of Adelaide and UniSA amalgamated into Adelaide University on 1 January 2026, and the program now sits in Adelaide University's College of Health, School of Medicine; applications for 2027 entry opened via SATAC on 3 August 2026 and close 30 September 2026.

New for 2027 entry: a Northern Community Care Stream of up to 20 places (SATAC ABP292 non-bonded, ABP293 bonded) for applicants schooled in Adelaide's northern suburbs, ranked on ATAR or IB plus interview with no UCAT ANZ; applicants with any prior higher education record are excluded from this stream for the 2027 intake.

Tasmania: Tasmania is the only medical school in the state, and from 2026 it runs at all three campuses — Hobart, Launceston and Cradle Coast (Burnie) — with applicants ranked and offers made separately against each campus.

Residency, not a stratospheric ATAR, is the dominant lever: at least 75% of domestic places go to Tasmanians, 50% to rural MM2-7 applicants including 25% from MM3-7, and the Rural Application Process adds 4 ATAR points for MM2 and 5 for MM3-7 Year 12 leavers. The minimum adjusted ATAR is 95 and UTAS publishes no cut-off or student profile.

Twenty places sit in the Tasmanian Rural Training Stream at Cradle Coast. The Aboriginal Entry Pathway waives the clinical aptitude test (UCAT or GAMSAT) but adds a personal supporting statement and an interview with representatives of the Medicine Admissions Committee.

Which is right for you?

Start with the admission test: Adelaide needs UCAT-ANZ, Tasmania needs UCAT-ANZ, GAMSAT, ISAT and MCAT. Preparing for one well beats splitting your time across two. Check your state of origin before you apply — Adelaide draws heavily on South Australia applicants and Tasmania on Tasmania, and an interstate application often faces a materially higher bar.

They suit different stages too: Adelaide is school-leaver (undergraduate) entry, Tasmania is both undergraduate and graduate entry. Your preference list should ultimately weight: which admission test you can realistically score well in, whether your state of origin gives you a bonus at either school, and where you'd actually want to live for four to six years.

Common questions

Adelaide uses UCAT-ANZ. Tasmania uses UCAT-ANZ, GAMSAT, ISAT and MCAT. The test mismatch means you may need to prep two assessments simultaneously, or you can pick the school whose admission test you're stronger in. GAMSAT is graduate-only and sat in March/September; UCAT-ANZ is undergraduate-leaning and sat in July; some schools (notably Bond and JCU) run their own selection model with no national test.

School data reviewed by the NextGen MedPrep editorial team — last reviewed .