Skip to main content
Australian Medical school comparison

Charles Sturt (Rural) vs Curtin

Charles Sturt (Rural) and Curtin are both Australian medical schools, but the path to an offer at each is meaningfully different. Charles Sturt (Rural) is in New South Wales while Curtin is in Western Australia. State of origin matters here: several schools rank local applicants ahead of interstate ones. Charles Sturt (Rural) uses UCAT-ANZ; Curtin uses UCAT-ANZ and CASPer.

That mismatch means either preparing two assessments or choosing the school whose test suits you.

Side-by-side comparison

Charles Sturt (Rural)

Orange

Quick comparison

Location
Orange, Australia
Entry pathway
Undergraduate
Admission tests
UCAT-ANZ
GAMSAT
-
UCAT-ANZ
UCAT ANZ alone produces the ranked list that determines interview invitations, and it then carries 25 per cent of CSU's published final selection criteria against 75 per cent for the MMI. ATAR is a hurdle, not the ranking device. CSU states the required UCAT level 'will vary each year, determined by the performance of all applicants competing for a place in the... course and will not be disclosed', so no cut-off can be quoted. Sit UCAT ANZ in the same calendar year you apply; scores are valid for that year only. For scale, the UCAT ANZ 2026 sitting (2027 entry, 17,341 candidates) had a mean total cognitive score of 1,964/2700, an 8th decile of 2,220 and a 9th decile of 2,340.
ATAR
ATAR hurdle (2027 entry, CSU standalone): 95.50 non-rural; 91.50 via the Rural Entry Admissions Scheme. There is no Greater Western Sydney tier at Charles Sturt — the 93.50 Western Sydney resident hurdle belongs to Western Sydney University's own course (UAC 725505). The ATAR is a minimum to be met, not the ranking instrument; UCAT ANZ (25%) and the MMI (75%) do the ranking. Equivalents: IB 38 (non-rural) / 35 (rural); completed undergraduate degree GPA 5.5 (non-rural) / 4.9 (rural).
Interview format
Multi-Station Mini Interview, online via Zoom (6 stations, 8 min per station, scenario-based)
Post-interview chance
Charles Sturt does not publish interview or offer numbers, so no interview-to-offer rate can be quoted.
Decision date
January

Curtin

Bentley

Quick comparison

Location
Bentley, Australia
Entry pathway
Undergraduate
Admission tests
UCAT-ANZ + CASPer
GAMSAT
-
UCAT-ANZ
No official Curtin-published cut-off. Curtin ranks total UCAT score, not a fixed threshold. Curtin publishes no UCAT-ANZ cut-off, minimum or competitive band in any year — the 2027 guide contains no quartile, decile or percentile figure. Note the scale change: UCAT-ANZ dropped Abstract Reasoning at the UCAT ANZ 2025 sitting (2026 entry), so the cognitive total is now out of 2700, not 3600, and Curtin's 2027 guide ranks on the "UCAT ANZ score (out of 2700)". Any figure in the 2900-3000 range comes from the retired /3600 scale and exceeds the current maximum, so it is neither achievable nor comparable. For orientation only, the official all-candidate UCAT ANZ 2026 statistics (the sitting that feeds 2027 entry) show a mean cognitive total of 1,964, a 3rd quartile of 2,170 and a 9th decile of 2,340 — national figures for every test-taker, not a Curtin applicant profile. Interview shortlist ratio 35 ATAR : 35 Casper : 30 UCAT-ANZ, per Curtin's own guide.. Interview shortlist ratio 35 ATAR : 35 CASPer : 30 UCAT (per MedEntry / Curtin official Q&A — Fraser's 35:35:40 reporting is an error).
ATAR
Minimum ATAR 95.00 for every school-leaver applicant, WA and interstate alike — Curtin publishes one figure with no domicile split, and adjustment points are added on top of it rather than included in it. The 92.00 figure is the minimum notional ATAR for the non-school-leaver (graduate) pathway only; Curtin course switchers are assessed on a course weighted average of 80 instead. Rural or StepUp adjustment points (up to 5, from one scheme only) apply on top, capped at an adjusted 99.95. TISC 2026 Admission Ranks (Main Round, December 2025) for CUMBS: minimum rank for consideration n/a, lowest selection rank offered n/a — selection is NOT solely on ATAR.
Interview format
Multiple Mini Interview (station count not published)
Post-interview chance
Not publicly disclosed.
Decision date
December-January

Charles Sturt (Rural) vs Curtin - in detail

Admission tests compared

UCAT-ANZ cut-offs. Charles Sturt (Rural) — UCAT ANZ alone produces the ranked list that determines interview invitations, and it then carries 25 per cent of CSU's published final selection criteria against 75 per cent for the MMI. ATAR is a… Curtin — No official Curtin-published cut-off. Curtin ranks total UCAT score, not a fixed threshold.

Curtin publishes no UCAT-ANZ cut-off, minimum or competitive band in any year — the 2027 guide contains no…

Timing shapes the choice as much as the score. GAMSAT is graduate-only and sits in March and September; UCAT-ANZ is mostly undergraduate and sits in July. A few schools run their own selection model with no national test at all.

ATAR and academic profile

Charles Sturt (Rural) requires ATAR 95.50 hurdle (non-rural) or 91.50 (Rural Entry Admissions Scheme), 2027 entry; UCAT-ANZ sat in the year of application, used to rank for interview and worth 25% of the published selection criteria; a six-station virtual MMI worth 75%; REAS applicants verify ASGS-RA 2-5 rural residency via DoctorConnect plus a Rural Confirmation form; open to Australian or New Zealand citizens and Australian permanent residents only.

Curtin requires Minimum ATAR 95.00 for all school leavers, WA and interstate alike, plus an ESSENTIAL Chemistry prerequisite (approximately 220 hours), met by ONE of: Chemistry ATAR with a final scaled score of 50 or higher; IB Chemistry HL/SL grade 4 or higher; NCEA Level 3 Chemistry with 24 achieved credit points; or TWO first-year AQF Level 7 university Chemistry units at 60 or higher in both — bridging units are explicitly not equivalent (the international guide additionally accepts GCE A-Level Chemistry at grade E or above).

STAT is not accepted except for English competency. UCAT-ANZ + Casper required for domestic applicants; 35:35:30 interview shortlist ratio (ATAR : Casper : UCAT-ANZ). Graduates enter on a minimum notional ATAR of 92, Curtin course switchers on a course weighted average of 80.

ATAR. Charles Sturt (Rural) — ATAR hurdle (2027 entry, CSU standalone): 95.50 non-rural; 91.50 via the Rural Entry Admissions Scheme.

There is no Greater Western Sydney tier at Charles Sturt — the 93.50 Western Sydney resident… Curtin — Minimum ATAR 95.00 for every school-leaver applicant, WA and interstate alike — Curtin publishes one figure with no domicile split, and adjustment points are added on top of it rather than included…

Read every ATAR figure as a selection rank, not a raw score. Educational access bonuses, rural-origin uplift and Indigenous pathways all adjust it, so the published number is rarely the one that decides your application.

Interview formats

Both Charles Sturt (Rural) and Curtin use MMI interviews, so the underlying prep approach is the same — practise ethics frameworks, Australian health-system topics (Medicare, rural workforce, Indigenous health) and (for MMI) structured station responses against a timer.

That said, the specifics differ slightly: Charles Sturt (Rural) runs multi-station mini interview, online via zoom (6 stations, 8 min per station, scenario-based); Curtin runs multiple mini interview (station count not published). Mock practice tailored to each school's exact format is the highest-leverage prep.

Interview windows: Charles Sturt (Rural) interviews in Late November 2026 per UAC (CSU's own key dates say November; First Nations panel interviews late November-early December); Curtin in December-January (domestic); July-August (international full-fee).

Curriculum and teaching style

Both schools deliver a Integrated-style curriculum, so day-to-day study habits will feel similar across years 1-3.

Specifics: 5-year undergraduate program: Bachelor of Clinical Science (Medicine) + Doctor of Medicine (admission at AQF 7, award at AQF 9; an exit-only Bachelor 5-year undergraduate Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS). The first three years are delivered at Curtin Perth (Bentley) with occasional v

Intake size: Charles Sturt (Rural) — 47 Commonwealth Supported Places a year from 2026, after an extra 10 CSPs were allocated (implying about 37 previously, though CSU does…; Curtin — 2027 intake: approximately 110 domestic places (CSP, inclusive of Bonded Medical Places), plus 10-15 international full-fee places.

A larger cohort means more peer breadth; a smaller cohort means more tutor contact.

Post-interview offer rate

Charles Sturt (Rural): Charles Sturt does not publish interview or offer numbers, so no interview-to-offer rate can be quoted. Curtin: Not publicly disclosed.

Post-interview odds give you the clearest signal of how competitive each school is at the final stage — a school with a 60% post-interview success rate is structurally easier to convert than one at 25%, even if the interview thresholds look identical on paper.

What makes each distinctive

Charles Sturt (Rural): A rurally-purposed medical school that now stands on its own: the AMC granted Charles Sturt standalone accreditation on 13 August 2025, to 31 March 2032 and commencing January 2026, ending the Joint Program in Medicine run with Western Sydney University since 2021.

CSU aims to select 'the majority of students who are of rural origin' and reserves a minimum of 80 per cent of interviews for rural applicants, but there is also a non-rural pathway, and places are not universally bonded — the Commonwealth sets the bonded/unbonded split, unbonded places go to the top-ranked applicants first and bonded places are then allocated automatically.

Years 3-5 run through a network of nine clinical schools across rural NSW and northern Victoria, with students allocated to a single clinical school and returning to the same community each year. On 'first': James Cook University's program commenced in 2000 as Australia's first medical school based outside a metropolitan area with an explicit rural, remote and Indigenous mission.

Curtin: Curtin is one of the newest Australian medical schools (first intake 2017) and runs a 5-year undergraduate MBBS for outer-metropolitan Perth, rural WA, and Indigenous workforce service. CASPer required alongside UCAT-ANZ and ATAR — Casper required alongside UCAT-ANZ and ATAR.

Curtin is not one of only two Australian Casper users — Casper is also required by the graduate-entry MD programmes at the University of Notre Dame Australia (Fremantle and Sydney) and the University of Wollongong, per those universities' own admission pages, and the list may not be exhaustive. Of the programmes confirmed, Curtin is the only direct-entry undergraduate course.

Pre-interview ratio 35 (ATAR) : 35 (Casper) : 30 (UCAT-ANZ), per Curtin's own 2027 Domestic Admissions Guide. Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander applicants are exempt from BOTH the UCAT-ANZ and Casper and apply directly to Curtin Medical School rather than through TISC.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander applicants are exempt from BOTH the Casper Test and the UCAT-ANZ, and apply directly to Curtin Medical School rather than through TISC.

Which is right for you?

Start with the admission test: Charles Sturt (Rural) needs UCAT-ANZ, Curtin needs UCAT-ANZ and CASPer. Preparing for one well beats splitting your time across two. Check your state of origin before you apply — Charles Sturt (Rural) draws heavily on New South Wales applicants and Curtin on Western Australia, and an interstate application often faces a materially higher bar.

Your preference list should ultimately weight: which admission test you can realistically score well in, whether your state of origin gives you a bonus at either school, and where you'd actually want to live for four to six years.

Common questions

Charles Sturt (Rural) uses UCAT-ANZ. Curtin uses UCAT-ANZ and CASPer. The test mismatch means you may need to prep two assessments simultaneously, or you can pick the school whose admission test you're stronger in. GAMSAT is graduate-only and sat in March/September; UCAT-ANZ is undergraduate-leaning and sat in July; some schools (notably Bond and JCU) run their own selection model with no national test.

School data reviewed by the NextGen MedPrep editorial team — last reviewed .