Skip to main content
Australian Medical school comparison

Charles Sturt (Rural) vs Notre Dame Sydney

Charles Sturt (Rural) and Notre Dame Sydney are both Australian medical schools, but the path to an offer at each is meaningfully different. Both sit in New South Wales, so the state bonus schemes and clinical-placement networks broadly overlap — the differentiation comes from selection, interview and curriculum.

Charles Sturt (Rural) uses UCAT-ANZ; Notre Dame Sydney uses GAMSAT, CASPer and MCAT. That mismatch means either preparing two assessments or choosing the school whose test suits you. They also recruit at different stages: Charles Sturt (Rural) runs school-leaver (undergraduate) entry, Notre Dame Sydney runs graduate entry.

Side-by-side comparison

Charles Sturt (Rural)

Orange

Quick comparison

Location
Orange, Australia
Entry pathway
Undergraduate
Admission tests
UCAT-ANZ
GAMSAT
-
UCAT-ANZ
UCAT ANZ alone produces the ranked list that determines interview invitations, and it then carries 25 per cent of CSU's published final selection criteria against 75 per cent for the MMI. ATAR is a hurdle, not the ranking device. CSU states the required UCAT level 'will vary each year, determined by the performance of all applicants competing for a place in the... course and will not be disclosed', so no cut-off can be quoted. Sit UCAT ANZ in the same calendar year you apply; scores are valid for that year only. For scale, the UCAT ANZ 2026 sitting (2027 entry, 17,341 candidates) had a mean total cognitive score of 1,964/2700, an 8th decile of 2,220 and a 9th decile of 2,340.
ATAR
ATAR hurdle (2027 entry, CSU standalone): 95.50 non-rural; 91.50 via the Rural Entry Admissions Scheme. There is no Greater Western Sydney tier at Charles Sturt — the 93.50 Western Sydney resident hurdle belongs to Western Sydney University's own course (UAC 725505). The ATAR is a minimum to be met, not the ranking instrument; UCAT ANZ (25%) and the MMI (75%) do the ranking. Equivalents: IB 38 (non-rural) / 35 (rural); completed undergraduate degree GPA 5.5 (non-rural) / 4.9 (rural).
Interview format
Multi-Station Mini Interview, online via Zoom (6 stations, 8 min per station, scenario-based)
Post-interview chance
Charles Sturt does not publish interview or offer numbers, so no interview-to-offer rate can be quoted.
Decision date
January

Notre Dame Sydney

Sydney

Quick comparison

Location
Sydney, Australia
Entry pathway
Graduate
Admission tests
GAMSAT + CASPer + MCAT
GAMSAT
Minimum total of 52 with at least 50 in each subsection; UNDA uses the unweighted average of the three GAMSAT sections, not the overall weighted score. Notre Dame publishes the average GAMSAT of applicants OFFERED AN INTERVIEW at Sydney: 67.84 (2024 entry), 68.08 (2025 entry), 68.23 (2026 entry). These are interview-shortlist averages, not the scores of applicants who received a place, and UNDA states they exclude applicants considered on additional criteria including rurality and facilitated interview pathway eligibility. No cut-off is published.
UCAT-ANZ
-
ATAR
-
Interview format
MMI (recorded/asynchronous online); live online panel for international applicants
Post-interview chance
Not publicly disclosed.
Decision date
Late October-early November (main round); additional offers November 2026-January 2027

Charles Sturt (Rural) vs Notre Dame Sydney - in detail

Admission tests compared

UCAT-ANZ cut-offs. Charles Sturt (Rural) — UCAT ANZ alone produces the ranked list that determines interview invitations, and it then carries 25 per cent of CSU's published final selection criteria against 75 per cent for the MMI. ATAR is a… Notre Dame Sydney — no published cut-off.

GAMSAT cut-offs. Charles Sturt (Rural) — not used or not published. Notre Dame Sydney — Minimum total of 52 with at least 50 in each subsection; UNDA uses the unweighted average of the three GAMSAT sections, not the overall weighted score. Notre Dame publishes the average GAMSAT of…

Timing shapes the choice as much as the score. GAMSAT is graduate-only and sits in March and September; UCAT-ANZ is mostly undergraduate and sits in July. A few schools run their own selection model with no national test at all.

ATAR and academic profile

Charles Sturt (Rural) requires ATAR 95.50 hurdle (non-rural) or 91.50 (Rural Entry Admissions Scheme), 2027 entry; UCAT-ANZ sat in the year of application, used to rank for interview and worth 25% of the published selection criteria; a six-station virtual MMI worth 75%; REAS applicants verify ASGS-RA 2-5 rural residency via DoctorConnect plus a Rural Confirmation form; open to Australian or New Zealand citizens and Australian permanent residents only.

Notre Dame Sydney requires Bachelor degree with minimum GPA 5.2/7.0 (weighted from 3 years FTE); GAMSAT 52 overall + 50 in each subsection; Casper (mandatory — applicants without a Casper score are not considered; last accepted sitting 11 June 2026 for the 2026-27 cycle); recorded/asynchronous online MMI.

ATAR. Charles Sturt (Rural) — ATAR hurdle (2027 entry, CSU standalone): 95.50 non-rural; 91.50 via the Rural Entry Admissions Scheme. There is no Greater Western Sydney tier at Charles Sturt — the 93.50 Western Sydney resident… Notre Dame Sydney — no published cut-off.

Graduate-entry GPA. Charles Sturt (Rural) — not applicable or not published. Notre Dame Sydney — Minimum weighted GPA of 5.2/7.0 over three FTE years, with GPA years progressively weighted Final-minus-2 x1, Final-minus-1 x2, Final x3. Notre Dame publishes the average GPA of applicants OFFERED AN…

Read every ATAR figure as a selection rank, not a raw score. Educational access bonuses, rural-origin uplift and Indigenous pathways all adjust it, so the published number is rarely the one that decides your application.

Interview formats

Both Charles Sturt (Rural) and Notre Dame Sydney use MMI interviews, so the underlying prep approach is the same — practise ethics frameworks, Australian health-system topics (Medicare, rural workforce, Indigenous health) and (for MMI) structured station responses against a timer.

That said, the specifics differ slightly: Charles Sturt (Rural) runs multi-station mini interview, online via zoom (6 stations, 8 min per station, scenario-based); Notre Dame Sydney runs mmi (recorded/asynchronous online); live online panel for international applicants. Mock practice tailored to each school's exact format is the highest-leverage prep.

Interview windows: Charles Sturt (Rural) interviews in Late November 2026 per UAC (CSU's own key dates say November; First Nations panel interviews late November-early December); Notre Dame Sydney in September-October (GEMSAS: interview offers released early September 2026).

Curriculum and teaching style

Both schools deliver a Integrated-style curriculum, so day-to-day study habits will feel similar across years 1-3.

Specifics: 5-year undergraduate program: Bachelor of Clinical Science (Medicine) + Doctor of Medicine (admission at AQF 7, award at AQF 9; an exit-only Bachelor 4-year graduate MD. Foundation Years 1-2 are delivered principally through Problem Based Learning in small groups led by a clinician; Clinical Years 3

Intake size: Charles Sturt (Rural) — 47 Commonwealth Supported Places a year from 2026, after an extra 10 CSPs were allocated (implying about 37 previously, though CSU does…; Notre Dame Sydney — 2027 cycle: 40 CSP + 17 BMP + up to 57 full-fee domestic (via GEMSAS) + up to 35 full-fee international (direct….

A larger cohort means more peer breadth; a smaller cohort means more tutor contact.

Post-interview offer rate

Charles Sturt (Rural): Charles Sturt does not publish interview or offer numbers, so no interview-to-offer rate can be quoted. Notre Dame Sydney: Not publicly disclosed.

Post-interview odds give you the clearest signal of how competitive each school is at the final stage — a school with a 60% post-interview success rate is structurally easier to convert than one at 25%, even if the interview thresholds look identical on paper.

What makes each distinctive

Charles Sturt (Rural): A rurally-purposed medical school that now stands on its own: the AMC granted Charles Sturt standalone accreditation on 13 August 2025, to 31 March 2032 and commencing January 2026, ending the Joint Program in Medicine run with Western Sydney University since 2021.

CSU aims to select 'the majority of students who are of rural origin' and reserves a minimum of 80 per cent of interviews for rural applicants, but there is also a non-rural pathway, and places are not universally bonded — the Commonwealth sets the bonded/unbonded split, unbonded places go to the top-ranked applicants first and bonded places are then allocated automatically.

Years 3-5 run through a network of nine clinical schools across rural NSW and northern Victoria, with students allocated to a single clinical school and returning to the same community each year. On 'first': James Cook University's program commenced in 2000 as Australia's first medical school based outside a metropolitan area with an explicit rural, remote and Indigenous mission.

Notre Dame Sydney: Notre Dame retired its selection Portfolio from the 2024 intake and put Casper in its place as the non-academic component; the interview format was not part of that change.

Casper is 30% of the pre-interview composite — the same weighting Notre Dame Fremantle uses — while Wollongong leans on Casper harder still, ranking for interview on 50% Casper plus 50% UOW admissions bonuses. Catholic ethos shapes the curriculum (medical ethics, end-of-life care, social justice) but the program is open to applicants of all faiths and none.

Strong placement network in Sydney Catholic and public hospitals, extending to Werribee Mercy and St John of God Ballarat in Victoria.

Notre Dame also runs entry pathways no other Australian medical school offers: a Priority Entry Pathway reserving MD places for its own Bachelor of Biomedical Science graduates (first Priority Entry in the 2026-27 intake, for students admitted to that degree from 2024 onwards; GPA >=6.0, unweighted GAMSAT >=55, Casper no lower than 1 SD below the mean, Notre Dame preferenced first through GEMSAS), plus facilitated interview pathways reaching the Sydney campus for Notre Dame undergraduate graduates (up to 10 across Fremantle and Sydney), Notre Dame Graduate Diploma or Master of Health and Medical Sciences graduates (up to 25) and ACU Bachelor of Biomedical Sciences graduates (up to 5, Sydney only).

Notre Dame's Pre-Medicine Certificate facilitated pathway is a Fremantle pathway and does not apply at Sydney. 2027 cycle: 40 CSP + 17 BMP + up to 57 full-fee domestic through GEMSAS, plus up to 35 full-fee international places that are NOT offered through GEMSAS in 2027 — international applicants must apply direct to Notre Dame's International Admissions Office.

GEMSAS notes the numbers are subject to change and that the quota includes the assured and priority pathways.

Which is right for you?

Start with the admission test: Charles Sturt (Rural) needs UCAT-ANZ, Notre Dame Sydney needs GAMSAT, CASPer and MCAT. Preparing for one well beats splitting your time across two. Both sit in New South Wales, so a local applicant gets the same state bonus at each.

They suit different stages too: Charles Sturt (Rural) is school-leaver (undergraduate) entry, Notre Dame Sydney is graduate entry. Your preference list should ultimately weight: which admission test you can realistically score well in, whether your state of origin gives you a bonus at either school, and where you'd actually want to live for four to six years.

Common questions

Charles Sturt (Rural) uses UCAT-ANZ. Notre Dame Sydney uses GAMSAT, CASPer and MCAT. The test mismatch means you may need to prep two assessments simultaneously, or you can pick the school whose admission test you're stronger in. GAMSAT is graduate-only and sat in March/September; UCAT-ANZ is undergraduate-leaning and sat in July; some schools (notably Bond and JCU) run their own selection model with no national test.

School data reviewed by the NextGen MedPrep editorial team.