Skip to main content
Australian Medical school comparison

Curtin vs Notre Dame Sydney

Curtin and Notre Dame Sydney are both Australian medical schools, but the path to an offer at each is meaningfully different. Curtin is in Western Australia while Notre Dame Sydney is in New South Wales. State of origin matters here: several schools rank local applicants ahead of interstate ones.

Curtin uses UCAT-ANZ and CASPer; Notre Dame Sydney uses GAMSAT, CASPer and MCAT. That mismatch means either preparing two assessments or choosing the school whose test suits you. They also recruit at different stages: Curtin runs school-leaver (undergraduate) entry, Notre Dame Sydney runs graduate entry.

Side-by-side comparison

Curtin

Bentley

Quick comparison

Location
Bentley, Australia
Entry pathway
Undergraduate
Admission tests
UCAT-ANZ + CASPer
GAMSAT
-
UCAT-ANZ
No official Curtin-published cut-off. Curtin ranks total UCAT score, not a fixed threshold. Curtin publishes no UCAT-ANZ cut-off, minimum or competitive band in any year — the 2027 guide contains no quartile, decile or percentile figure. Note the scale change: UCAT-ANZ dropped Abstract Reasoning at the UCAT ANZ 2025 sitting (2026 entry), so the cognitive total is now out of 2700, not 3600, and Curtin's 2027 guide ranks on the "UCAT ANZ score (out of 2700)". Any figure in the 2900-3000 range comes from the retired /3600 scale and exceeds the current maximum, so it is neither achievable nor comparable. For orientation only, the official all-candidate UCAT ANZ 2026 statistics (the sitting that feeds 2027 entry) show a mean cognitive total of 1,964, a 3rd quartile of 2,170 and a 9th decile of 2,340 — national figures for every test-taker, not a Curtin applicant profile. Interview shortlist ratio 35 ATAR : 35 Casper : 30 UCAT-ANZ, per Curtin's own guide.. Interview shortlist ratio 35 ATAR : 35 CASPer : 30 UCAT (per MedEntry / Curtin official Q&A — Fraser's 35:35:40 reporting is an error).
ATAR
Minimum ATAR 95.00 for every school-leaver applicant, WA and interstate alike — Curtin publishes one figure with no domicile split, and adjustment points are added on top of it rather than included in it. The 92.00 figure is the minimum notional ATAR for the non-school-leaver (graduate) pathway only; Curtin course switchers are assessed on a course weighted average of 80 instead. Rural or StepUp adjustment points (up to 5, from one scheme only) apply on top, capped at an adjusted 99.95. TISC 2026 Admission Ranks (Main Round, December 2025) for CUMBS: minimum rank for consideration n/a, lowest selection rank offered n/a — selection is NOT solely on ATAR.
Interview format
Multiple Mini Interview (station count not published)
Post-interview chance
Not publicly disclosed.
Decision date
December-January

Notre Dame Sydney

Sydney

Quick comparison

Location
Sydney, Australia
Entry pathway
Graduate
Admission tests
GAMSAT + CASPer + MCAT
GAMSAT
Minimum total of 52 with at least 50 in each subsection; UNDA uses the unweighted average of the three GAMSAT sections, not the overall weighted score. Notre Dame publishes the average GAMSAT of applicants OFFERED AN INTERVIEW at Sydney: 67.84 (2024 entry), 68.08 (2025 entry), 68.23 (2026 entry). These are interview-shortlist averages, not the scores of applicants who received a place, and UNDA states they exclude applicants considered on additional criteria including rurality and facilitated interview pathway eligibility. No cut-off is published.
UCAT-ANZ
-
ATAR
-
Interview format
MMI (recorded/asynchronous online); live online panel for international applicants
Post-interview chance
Not publicly disclosed.
Decision date
Late October-early November (main round); additional offers November 2026-January 2027

Curtin vs Notre Dame Sydney - in detail

Admission tests compared

UCAT-ANZ cut-offs. Curtin — No official Curtin-published cut-off. Curtin ranks total UCAT score, not a fixed threshold. Curtin publishes no UCAT-ANZ cut-off, minimum or competitive band in any year — the 2027 guide contains no… Notre Dame Sydney — no published cut-off.

GAMSAT cut-offs. Curtin — not used or not published. Notre Dame Sydney — Minimum total of 52 with at least 50 in each subsection; UNDA uses the unweighted average of the three GAMSAT sections, not the overall weighted score. Notre Dame publishes the average GAMSAT of…

Timing shapes the choice as much as the score. GAMSAT is graduate-only and sits in March and September; UCAT-ANZ is mostly undergraduate and sits in July. A few schools run their own selection model with no national test at all.

ATAR and academic profile

Curtin requires Minimum ATAR 95.00 for all school leavers, WA and interstate alike, plus an ESSENTIAL Chemistry prerequisite (approximately 220 hours), met by ONE of: Chemistry ATAR with a final scaled score of 50 or higher; IB Chemistry HL/SL grade 4 or higher; NCEA Level 3 Chemistry with 24 achieved credit points; or TWO first-year AQF Level 7 university Chemistry units at 60 or higher in both — bridging units are explicitly not equivalent (the international guide additionally accepts GCE A-Level Chemistry at grade E or above).

STAT is not accepted except for English competency. UCAT-ANZ + Casper required for domestic applicants; 35:35:30 interview shortlist ratio (ATAR : Casper : UCAT-ANZ). Graduates enter on a minimum notional ATAR of 92, Curtin course switchers on a course weighted average of 80.

Notre Dame Sydney requires Bachelor degree with minimum GPA 5.2/7.0 (weighted from 3 years FTE); GAMSAT 52 overall + 50 in each subsection; Casper (mandatory — applicants without a Casper score are not considered; last accepted sitting 11 June 2026 for the 2026-27 cycle); recorded/asynchronous online MMI.

ATAR. Curtin — Minimum ATAR 95.00 for every school-leaver applicant, WA and interstate alike — Curtin publishes one figure with no domicile split, and adjustment points are added on top of it rather than included… Notre Dame Sydney — no published cut-off.

Graduate-entry GPA. Curtin — not applicable or not published. Notre Dame Sydney — Minimum weighted GPA of 5.2/7.0 over three FTE years, with GPA years progressively weighted Final-minus-2 x1, Final-minus-1 x2, Final x3. Notre Dame publishes the average GPA of applicants OFFERED AN…

Read every ATAR figure as a selection rank, not a raw score. Educational access bonuses, rural-origin uplift and Indigenous pathways all adjust it, so the published number is rarely the one that decides your application.

Interview formats

Both Curtin and Notre Dame Sydney use MMI interviews, so the underlying prep approach is the same — practise ethics frameworks, Australian health-system topics (Medicare, rural workforce, Indigenous health) and (for MMI) structured station responses against a timer.

That said, the specifics differ slightly: Curtin runs multiple mini interview (station count not published); Notre Dame Sydney runs mmi (recorded/asynchronous online); live online panel for international applicants. Mock practice tailored to each school's exact format is the highest-leverage prep.

Interview windows: Curtin interviews in December-January (domestic); July-August (international full-fee); Notre Dame Sydney in September-October (GEMSAS: interview offers released early September 2026).

Curriculum and teaching style

Both schools deliver a Integrated-style curriculum, so day-to-day study habits will feel similar across years 1-3.

Specifics: 5-year undergraduate Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS). The first three years are delivered at Curtin Perth (Bentley) with occasional v 4-year graduate MD. Foundation Years 1-2 are delivered principally through Problem Based Learning in small groups led by a clinician; Clinical Years 3

Intake size: Curtin — 2027 intake: approximately 110 domestic places (CSP, inclusive of Bonded Medical Places), plus 10-15 international full-fee places; Notre Dame Sydney — 2027 cycle: 40 CSP + 17 BMP + up to 57 full-fee domestic (via GEMSAS) + up to 35 full-fee international (direct….

A larger cohort means more peer breadth; a smaller cohort means more tutor contact.

Post-interview offer rate

Curtin: Not publicly disclosed. Notre Dame Sydney: Not publicly disclosed.

Post-interview odds give you the clearest signal of how competitive each school is at the final stage — a school with a 60% post-interview success rate is structurally easier to convert than one at 25%, even if the interview thresholds look identical on paper.

What makes each distinctive

Curtin: Curtin is one of the newest Australian medical schools (first intake 2017) and runs a 5-year undergraduate MBBS for outer-metropolitan Perth, rural WA, and Indigenous workforce service. CASPer required alongside UCAT-ANZ and ATAR — Casper required alongside UCAT-ANZ and ATAR.

Curtin is not one of only two Australian Casper users — Casper is also required by the graduate-entry MD programmes at the University of Notre Dame Australia (Fremantle and Sydney) and the University of Wollongong, per those universities' own admission pages, and the list may not be exhaustive. Of the programmes confirmed, Curtin is the only direct-entry undergraduate course.

Pre-interview ratio 35 (ATAR) : 35 (Casper) : 30 (UCAT-ANZ), per Curtin's own 2027 Domestic Admissions Guide. Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander applicants are exempt from BOTH the UCAT-ANZ and Casper and apply directly to Curtin Medical School rather than through TISC.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander applicants are exempt from BOTH the Casper Test and the UCAT-ANZ, and apply directly to Curtin Medical School rather than through TISC.

Notre Dame Sydney: Notre Dame retired its selection Portfolio from the 2024 intake and put Casper in its place as the non-academic component; the interview format was not part of that change.

Casper is 30% of the pre-interview composite — the same weighting Notre Dame Fremantle uses — while Wollongong leans on Casper harder still, ranking for interview on 50% Casper plus 50% UOW admissions bonuses. Catholic ethos shapes the curriculum (medical ethics, end-of-life care, social justice) but the program is open to applicants of all faiths and none.

Strong placement network in Sydney Catholic and public hospitals, extending to Werribee Mercy and St John of God Ballarat in Victoria.

Notre Dame also runs entry pathways no other Australian medical school offers: a Priority Entry Pathway reserving MD places for its own Bachelor of Biomedical Science graduates (first Priority Entry in the 2026-27 intake, for students admitted to that degree from 2024 onwards; GPA >=6.0, unweighted GAMSAT >=55, Casper no lower than 1 SD below the mean, Notre Dame preferenced first through GEMSAS), plus facilitated interview pathways reaching the Sydney campus for Notre Dame undergraduate graduates (up to 10 across Fremantle and Sydney), Notre Dame Graduate Diploma or Master of Health and Medical Sciences graduates (up to 25) and ACU Bachelor of Biomedical Sciences graduates (up to 5, Sydney only).

Notre Dame's Pre-Medicine Certificate facilitated pathway is a Fremantle pathway and does not apply at Sydney. 2027 cycle: 40 CSP + 17 BMP + up to 57 full-fee domestic through GEMSAS, plus up to 35 full-fee international places that are NOT offered through GEMSAS in 2027 — international applicants must apply direct to Notre Dame's International Admissions Office.

GEMSAS notes the numbers are subject to change and that the quota includes the assured and priority pathways.

Which is right for you?

Start with the admission test: Curtin needs UCAT-ANZ and CASPer, Notre Dame Sydney needs GAMSAT, CASPer and MCAT. Preparing for one well beats splitting your time across two.

Check your state of origin before you apply — Curtin draws heavily on Western Australia applicants and Notre Dame Sydney on New South Wales, and an interstate application often faces a materially higher bar. They suit different stages too: Curtin is school-leaver (undergraduate) entry, Notre Dame Sydney is graduate entry.

Your preference list should ultimately weight: which admission test you can realistically score well in, whether your state of origin gives you a bonus at either school, and where you'd actually want to live for four to six years.

Common questions

Curtin uses UCAT-ANZ and CASPer. Notre Dame Sydney uses GAMSAT, CASPer and MCAT. The test mismatch means you may need to prep two assessments simultaneously, or you can pick the school whose admission test you're stronger in. GAMSAT is graduate-only and sat in March/September; UCAT-ANZ is undergraduate-leaning and sat in July; some schools (notably Bond and JCU) run their own selection model with no national test.

School data reviewed by the NextGen MedPrep editorial team — last reviewed .